Near M.

4 star rating You may be wondering why a native, born and bred New Yorker is doing a review of a hotel in NYC but I'll explain. A friend of mine booked this hotel a few days ago and another friend of mine used to work here, so its given me the opportunity to get to check out the hotel, see the rooms and amenities it offers. I wanted to give this place a 5 out of 5 stars but there's a few key issues with this place that has made me give it a big time 4 out of 5 stars. And in some ways I feel generous giving it a 4. Either way, read on!

Location: Some may find the location inconvenient, weird, shady, "out of the way" but if you ask me, the location is perfect. Now I understand it's not right smack dab in the middle of Manhattan, in the tourist, Disineyfied trappings of Times Square or across the street from Central Park on the west or east wing of 59th but that's totally okay. This location is more of a piece of "real New York City" and you're not far away at all from Manhattan or north Brooklyn, around quite a few attractions and there's no shortage of eats in the area.

You'll be in the L.I.C/Astoria section of Queens. Up the Block from the hotel is the Museum of Moving Images which is a wonderful museum and you'll be next to Steinway street which is flooded with plenty of restaurants. To the west of Astoria and on Broadway you got even more options. Italian, Brazilian/Latin, Middle Eastern,Mediterranean, Asian the list doesn't end. And of course you have your chain restaurants if desire familiarity. If you find yourself on Jackson Ave or Vernon BLVD, then there's even more to desire.

You'll be next to Astoria Park and Gantry State Park which are both wonderful parks. And you're next to a plethora of trains to get you right into Manhattan. The R,M leaves you right in front of the hotel but the 7,E, N, W are a few minutes walks away.

You'll be in an industrial/residential area but there's not much too worry about really. Lots of construction going on with new sky rises being built.

Decor/Style: This is probably the biggest draw of the hotel. This hotel is truly groovy and has a completely distinct feel from many other hotels you'll go to anywhere. It's cozy, loungey, artsy and a lot of thought went into how the hotel was created. As I was lucky enough to see a few of the rooms through my connection, I can say that no room is the same and every room has its own unique touch and feel. Everywhere you look in the hotel there's art and every floor has a neat little lounge spot with comfy sofas. It's a mixture of the rustic past of the place meeting modern art.

There's also a nice little cafe on the main floor which is fairly priced.

And I will have to say this hotel has the best hotel-gym I've EVER been too. I've been to a good number of hotels and I am sure there's a hotel out there that blows this gym's hotel out the water BUT I still feel this hotel-gym very good. There's more then the bare bones minimum. There's a very durable kick boxing bag, good tread mills, good number of weights, resistance bands, yoga mats and a nice boom box. If you're a fitness buff and want a nice workout before you hit the streets, this can do you pretty well.

There's also a very big lounge area on the main floor and a really nice lounge rooftop area on the top floor. Which I believe can be used unless its reserved. There's also some shows that happen here which I think is on the basement area or something. I don't know but the staff can inform you I am sure.

The ugly and bad: So, with all the praise I've been giving it, I have to get down to some points that totally suck dirty booty. One of the things that pissed me off greatly about this place is the elevators. TERRIBLE. This place is only 5 floors so thankfully you have the option of going up the stairs without having to catch an asthma attack but there's no excuse for the elevators to be as slow as they are. Maybe its because its old but I don't give a damn. On the bright side, the stair cases are really neat to take a trip on so I suppose its not that bad. Still, its TOO slow for an elevator that has to go 5 floors.

Secondly, the place is still having a lot of work being done on it. I guess that's not totally a bad thing but its quite cheesy to see construction and renovation going on in the hotel when you're staying there. Once things are finalized, I can give this place a big time 4 or perfect 5.

Either way, I still highly recommend this place and don't let my negatives of the place deter you. If you can afford it, definitely book it and make sure you have time to not only explore NYC but spend time in the hotel. It's definitely a hotel I feel you would want to spend time in and not only have as a sleeping hub. It's so groovy, comfy and cozy that I would definitely want to make the best out of shelling out some cash to actually hang out here. BOOK IT.
3/08/2017

Eric H.

5 star rating The first time I visited Paper Factory was for a wedding before Mundo had reopened. It was a great time. I remember thinking to myself as I left - I really hope to come back for more memorable nights. Luckily, JunXion NYC has since teamed up with the hotel to host some truly incredible evenings. Halloween and NYE were nights I'll remember for a long time to come. From the eclectic music, to the unique performances and incredible decor - Paper Factory Hotel and JunXion are a dream team. As an Astoria resident, it's wonderful to have such an awesome place in our neighborhood. 1/02/2017

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

Sheila M.

5 star rating I love this hotel! 5 stars because it's beautiful inside, quiet and peaceful. It can be a little dark inside but that's part of the character of the hotel. The rooms are comfy;the bed and there is a thermostat in each room ( so not sure why some reviews said it was too hot?). I have stayed twice and never been bothered by any noise. The bar and restaurant are delicious! 6/05/2018

Luis

This hotel is so greatly decorated it looks like a museum from the past. They have taken tin drums and turn them into chairs for the lobby. In the restaurant, they have a column made out of books making it extremely unique. The rooms are spacious and also nicely decorated. The entire building has the original wood floors which have been treated to have a nice shine. The bed is comfy. The staff could not be any more friendlier and welcoming. 3/05/2018

Mauricio V.

5 star rating This place is filled with chic decor and a really fun place to go to when they host special events. Mundo the restaurant in the hotel has great food and mixologist worthy drinks.

The whole shake, strain and stir with specials liquors and bitters....
10/18/2016

Nofar M

5 star rating Wow!! Wow !!! Really recommend! If you are in NY great place for friends,family and also couples

Thank you very much . They people there very kind . The service there very quiqly . Soon they need to open there also restaurant inside- can’t wait!
7/04/2018

sandie1947

4 star rating Super hotel, interesting decor. 4 of us stayed at The Paper Factory Hotel. A short walk from the subway (which we navigated from Manhattan ).

Great staff that was very accommodating with the delivery of extra pillows, towels and water.

One drawback is that the hotel is not near anything. It was a former paper factory and there is a collection of interesting items in the lobby and comfortable sitting room.

We did figure out the subway system, after a few heading-the-wrong-way incidents and took in the site of the 1964 World's Fair.
7/26/2018

barnone80

4 star rating Stylish and Comfortable This hotel was a pleasant surprise! The decor is urban chic with a lot of interesting mid-Century artifacts all around the hotel. The rooms are spacious for NYC and very comfortable. The rooms and common areas are nice and clean. The front desk staff is very nice. There is a coffee bar in the lobby and a we enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room. The neighborhood is quiet at night.

The subway station is close by, but my one criticism is that it can be hard to find parking if you have a car. There is a coffee house across the street, but most restaurants are several blocks away.
10/18/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Kendra at the front desk is amazing We stayed a 4 day weekend with multiple guests and Kendra really went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She helped us with several questions throughout the night! She went above and beyond. 3/22/2019

ricardosou

5 star rating Highly recommended Nice, cosy and comfortable option to stay in NY. Just 2 subway stops from Manhattan, very quiet, extremely clean, good bedding and towels. Spacious room with closet, safe, chest of drawers, table, TV with plenty of free on demand chanels and very good internet connection. Coffee machine, free bottle of water. Spacious bathroom with free toiletries. Charming decoration in industrial style, leather sofas, plenty of cool lighting fixtures. Courteous people at front desk. And last, but not least, affordable prices. Highly reccomended. 6/18/2018

Arunia

Great artistic hotel. Nice bar and restaurant. Great for families and young adults. Lots of things to do in a close distance. 11/10/2018

Nathan S.

5 star rating Stayed here for a wedding. The staff is fantastic, incredibly accommodating and friendly. The subway was 1 block away, and the neighborhood is quiet (by NYC standards) I would stay here again next time i come to NY 8/07/2017

RaymondS1241

4 star rating Great hotel, staff friendly, great location, No refrigerator in the room. This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for... This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for this, but every hotel i have ever stayed at around the world has provided this Missed item within the room of the paper factory hotel. This is a nice hotel facility, staff great, and it would be a positive added service with a porter/concierge service for taking bags and guests to rooms and explaining the facilities of the hotel and in the rooms. More 8/27/2018

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
2/12/2019

J

Wonderfully designed, moderately priced- nearby the 37 street R/M train station. It's close to Kaufman Studios and many restaurants, bars, a movie theater and the Museum of the Moving Image. The hotel was built from an old factory and is just brilliantly designed down to the small details in the rooms. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, game room, fitness center, lounge areas, continental breakfast (for a fee), bottled water and more. Check in is at 3pm. Check out is at 11am. I suggest anyone that's looking for a nice place to stay while in the Queens area- with easy access into Manhattan by train- to stay here. The staff is lovely as well. I would definitely come back. 8/13/2018

Molly L.

5 star rating I just accidentally posted this a tip, but I was here for a New Year's Eve party and this hotel is gorgeous! Beautiful bar, unique and classy interior. Definitely a fun place for a group of friends looking to stay in this area, saw a lot of family's and kids too. 1/02/2017

Larry

Staying at the Paper Factory Hotel was a fabulous experience. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful, when we got stranded and had to book an additional night because of a snowstorm! Loved our stay and we would highly recommend this place. We would love to visit again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. 1/22/2019

Meaghan L.

5 star rating Amazing hotel in a great location. The breakfast included in the room was amazing. The staff was very nice. I highly recommend staying at the paper factory. 7/07/2018

Jim H.

4 star rating Really great atmosphere and decor. The bar has great quality brews and spirits. There's a shuffleboard and ping pong room as well as a nice patio. The rooms are nice, though, the harder bed with softer pillows was a bit uncomfortable. But the bathroom and shower both were very clean.

The location is great, it's right next to the MTA and a quick ride into Manhattan or to LGA.

The only real issue I had was the service at the cafe counter being slow at best and interrupted by a manager more concerned with a rag being in a bucket than the one customer who had already been waiting for a few minutes for a cup of coffee.

Otherwise, this will be my go to for my business travel into NYC for the foreseeable future.
9/27/2018

Craig M.

5 star rating I hesitate to rate the Paper Factory because I would like to keep it for myself.  Lobby and the rest of the main floor is modern, cool, unique and very welcoming. The vibe was very relaxed but the staff including Arturo, Daniella, and Theo in the bar were very friendly, helpful, and genuine.  My room was spacious, clean, and light filled and the bed was comfortable. Blackout shades provided perfect sleep environment.  Bar was well designed and offered a relaxed atmosphere.  I stayed in Queens but Manhattan is very close either by car or subway.  This place is a true gem and a nice change from the boring, generic hotel experience.  My only caveat is that like most of New York parking can be a challenge if you happen to have a car during your stay.  Other than that I look forward to staying at the Factory when I'm in town again. 10/14/2018

Shadya N.

5 star rating Came here for my anniversary and fell completely in love. From the moment you walk in to the minute you check out, this hotel blows your mind. So much art and adventure into such a small space. The lobby is lovely, not to mention the amazing wall of books. The rooms are cozy and much different than your average stay. I stayed on the fourth floor and it was amazing. Wood floors, wood desks and cabinets, wood everywhere! They also have an outdoor area along with a restaurant/bar that is also very nice. This is a hotel you stay and enjoy. I wish I got more of it honestly! The only downside is the paper thin walls. You could hear absolutely every door open and shut, every footstep in the hall and the beautiful sound of the city which of course is expected. I'd stay here every time I'm in the area for sure! 8/22/2016

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

Joanne K.

4 star rating I'd definitely go back here if i ever needed a room in queens again! The space is so cute. And also everything was clean. Also the brand for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner etc is good too. And i generally don't use the ones the hotels give. My only complaint would be there's no parking, and only one elevator!! 5/28/2017

beckyalexandered2018

4 star rating Funky and spacious hotel We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us. Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors. The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there... We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us.

Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors.

The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there and we had to get a cab back! Check before you board for later nights/weekends.

There was confusion over the summer party - we arrived to be told that there would be their annual party the last night of our stay due to end at 5am. We were worried about this as travelling with children and that is very late to hear party noise. In the end it was postponed due to weather but we really should have been told much earlier - we booked ages ago. The manager was again very nice about this and offered ear plugs but for such a big night I was surprised they even took regular bookings - maybe this needs more thought for the future - discuss with guests on booking that night, not when they check in!

The area is not smart and a bit quiet to walk around if on your own at night but we loved the Momi which is a 7-8 min walk away and tried a few of the local restaurants which were all excellent - the hotel gave us a great map with their locations. We also went to the amazing open air pool in Astoria - best get a cab there - free to go in but you need to take a good lock - check their many rules on line before going!

We would stay here again. More
8/13/2018

Rohan M

5 star rating A whole new world at the Paper Factory Hotel! Some friends and I finally took a trip to New York City and decided the Paper Factory Hotel would be our home base for the week. After a pleasantly short drive from Laguardia airport, we checked in and figured we would get a lay of the land before embarking on our escapades. With a great mix of urban and retro styles throughout the building, there was always something inventively unique looking back at you. We found ourselves meeting in the lobby most days to plan out our days while the staff gave us some advise on how to best navigate the city and make the absolute most of every day. Between the quick trip to Manhattan and genuine vibes all around, The Paper Factory made our trip to New York more than memorable! More 5/31/2018

Charles B.

4 star rating I'm not sure why El Mundo doesn't have its own Yelp page, but my review is written solely based upon my wonderful experience going to the restaurant for drinks and apps.

We had the ceviche and an order of delicious empanadas. Both were excellent. Presentation and taste of the ceviche were great and the empanadas were bursting with flavor.

My girlfriend was drinking the Malbec and I tried a Brazilian beer that came in a very large bottle and was quite delicious.

The decor is quite nice and makes you feel as though you're not surrounded by bland industrial-style buildings and warehouses that have been converted into residences.

The service was exceptional - polite, attentive, accommodating, professional.

Highly recommend this place and I look forward to returning for a full meal.
7/30/2016

Julia

Such a cool hotel. Very modern industrial in style and design. Clean rooms, good coffee,nice amenities all around. Would recommend to my extremely picky grandmother which is saying A LOT. 8/27/2018

Eric W.

5 star rating I travel for business often and have stayed at well over 80 hotels in the last 2 years alone. I've had amazing experiences at hotels and I've also had horrible experiences. My stay here was amazing!! - we got a free upgrade to the Manhattan Suite. The hotel has so much character both in the rooms and also downstairs - Joana at the front desk made we feel welcome from the moment I stepped into this hotel. She offered me a comprehensive list of recommended restaurants in the area and answered all my questions courteously and professionally. This place is amazing - worth every penny and then some. Check it out!!!! 10/27/2018

chides2017

5 star rating Industrial modern hotel with touches of eclectic flair Dear Chides2017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay. We are truly grateful for your kind review and your amazing rate. It is priceless to hear and read that our guest enjoyed both common areas design but rooms and accommodation as well.

We very much appreciate your comments, as they help us to improve our services. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team.

Warm regards

PF team
7/24/2018

Kim C

5 star rating Fabulous Hospitality This is belated review of a September stay. I ended up at the PFH very late one night after being locked out of the condo where I was to stay. Arturo was so kind to help me out of a stressful bind with a gorgeous suite for an incredible price. As (bad) luck would have it, I spent the next day in the ER and I missed the last flight out. Not only did Arturo accommodate my need for a room for a second night, he and his Brazilian background music helped me throughout a sleepless night as I researched my potentially frightening diagnosis. I'm happy to say that, months later, the diagnosis has been ruled out. And, I'm more than happy to share my very positive experience with travelers who appreciate service that goes above and beyond. More 11/09/2018

FlyBoy32725

5 star rating What a great hotel! This was the perfect girl’s trip getaway! The hotel is acroos the street from a subway station with easy access to Manhattan. The decor is very unique and fun to explore! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend! 9/05/2018

James D.

5 star rating Great hotel and hospitality!! I have a really good experience... every one here deserves a more then 5 starts !! 9/28/2017

Matthew R.

4 star rating Mid sized Boutique Hotel at the intersection of Astoria and Long Island City. Booked it through booking.com and got a really good deal for two nights. Rooms were clean and pretty big for a small hotel. Rest of hotel was well organized, Front desk was efficient. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel (separate review), and the downstairs space is often used for large parties.  HVAC system in room kept place comfortable.

One minor quibble is they have to fix the elevator. it has that annoying "hey, I'm not exactly at the floor level, so let me bounce the people in the car a few times to find it" thing going for it.
3/03/2017

Wally S.

5 star rating Very lovely hotel, my husband and I love it, stood there twice already!

Beautiful clean rooms, staff very friendly and helpful!

The restaurant ooooh so good, chef Eli creates the best dishes, had Tuna Carpaccio Daily, best ever also the crisp Arancini, but everything is so delicious!

On the minus side, last year we tried to stay 10days until after Halloween, but couldn't, they had a private Halloween Party, which was ok. However all the sofas, chairs and tables were removed from the lobby, with nowhere to sit, (we were told we could sit in the restaurant, which of course is not an option), the whole week leading up to the day before the party. This was extremely unprofessional from the management, it felt like the hotel guests were not welcome any longer!

Why I gave 5stars? We loved the staff, restaurant and rooms and very convenient to public transportation.

The last 3days where we had to switch hotels, because of the party we went to the Boro Hotel very close by, also a very lovely hotel, great staff and very accommodating! Definitely 5stars!
4/16/2018

KJ K.

4 star rating Been here twice. Willing to return because of few reasons: I love how they're so close to the metro station, their interiors, and friendly staffs.

First time the staff had upgraded our room to a Manhattan loft. It was during winter time, and the room would never get warmer... but I still enjoyed the experience because the staffs tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Second time we stayed at the first floor standard kitchenette room, thinking that first floor would not be an issue. Well, we didn't have much problems, but the bathroom smelled....like a sewer.... not to an extreme like 'oh my can't stay here' but every time I stepped into the bathroom I realized I did not want to breathe as much as I could. And the bed would make squeaky noise every time I moved.

But despite of all of these, I am willing to come back, try them at least one more time. Love how it's a little distant from Manhattan but still close to the metro station, and it was easier to find a cheaper parking lot near LIC.
7/14/2017

Luca P.

5 star rating Super friendly staff. Nicely decorated rooms, unique hotel, the drink at the bar were nice. Tried a Negroni and an old fashioned. The vibe is tranquil and easygoing 10/14/2018

Mishka

The Paper Factory Hotel is a very nice place to stay. The decor was beautiful and unique and the staff was very pleasant. Although we were only there for a night, we will definitely be staying here again in the future. 7/29/2018

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 2/12/2019

Lani

The moment we booked our accommodations to the moment we walked into the hotel and during our stay, we enjoyed our experience. The staff are inviting and accommodating. Shout out to Alisha, you were very professional, gracious and I appreciate your effort to go above and beyond. The atmosphere and decor of this hotel was very unique and compelling. The I highly recommend this hotel. 2/24/2019

Faye M.

4 star rating The hotel is beautiful and has lots of charm and would stay again if I came back to New York the breakfast is great and great price and the area is so so but overall I liked it 9/02/2018

randi n.

5 star rating I loved this place! Who knew such sophistication existed in industrial Queens! So nice we extended our stay and Stephanie was so cool and accommodated our needs at the front desk. Natalie was super cool as well! Rooms are unique and clean. Bath products better than most hotels, even though I usually bring my own. I'll be back! 7/03/2018

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

Joannah Y.

5 star rating Too bad we only had time to sleep in the hotel as a lot of non-New Yonkers do but would have loved to spend time in the hotel itself.  The design was warm and  "feel at home" like and the rooms were very clean. I don't know what those other reviewers were smoking at that time.  I expected and dreaded those supposed paper thin walls' noses to kick in and there wasn't a peep and we were there when the place was fully booked. My only complaint is their 1 Ply tissue paper in the toilet.  Hate those.

Housekeeping took awhile, most likely from being fully booked.  Our room was done at around 3 o'clock. The 24 hour gym was clean and empty as heck all the time we were there.  Overall, loved the experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back again!
11/30/2016

A TripAdvisor Member

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

eamagnusen

5 star rating Relaxing, Artsy and Clean OK, so my personal experience at this hotel was amazing. First and foremost, the staff geniunely made me feel comfortable with the Paper Factory Hotel. (Thank you Arturo for your help and outstanding service.)

Didn't jot down their names, and the two front desk agents who checked me in were both helpful and sincere.

Room 427 was great (corner king room) Retro styling along with mofern conveniences, tall ceilings and windows on two sides of the room (as well as in the entranceway.) AC worked efficiently and quietly. Wanted to take the bed home with me!

Linens were fine, as were the bathroom towels.

Bottom line is this hotel has a lot going for it....great staff, comfortable rooms and is a off the charts in the "bang for your buck" quotent.
6/19/2018

Pamela J.

4 star rating When we travel to New York, we love to stay at the paper factory. We have stayed twice. The furniture and ambiance is very pleasing and stylish. There is a restaurant by the entrance that is temporarily closed but they have buffet style breakfast till 10:30. There is a little shop inside that sells pastries and coffee till 11am then opens again at 3 for small meals/snacks/beer/wine. There is also small activities like a cool chess table to use in the lobby.

The rooms are quite simple but very pleasurable. No mini fridge or microwaves in the basic rooms but the beds are cozy and the room is stylish.
9/17/2018

Sara P.

5 star rating The hallways are not that spacious but  great interior and super hip hotel gives you a London feel 3/12/2018

Celeste S.

5 star rating Our Wedding October 13, 2018

My husband and I were searching for a Hotel to dress and take pictures on our Wedding day in our Hometown of Long Island City.  He and I had gone to several hotels and looked no further when we walked into the Paper Factory Hotel. Gal, the owner gave us a tour of the hotel. We fell in love with the original decor and character of the Penthouse, Manhattan Loft and wonderful staff .  The staff is always pleasant and make you feel at home.  Marijana the hotel manager made arrangements for us to stay at a discounted rate to experience the hotel last summer and we absolutely enjoyed it.  Events, restaurant, common areas, views, rooms and atmosphere are always GREAT.

For our wedding we went from booking two rooms to booking five rooms in the hotel.  Each and every staff member, (they all are great for fear we'd leave someone out we didn't add names) always super helpful each and every time.  

When I got there the night before the wedding, a beautiful arrangement of roses on the bed like a fairy tale. I felt like a princess.   We had a great time with our families.  The penthouse was beautiful and large enough to accommodate our large bridal party on our special day.      

We took pictures in the rooms which were nothing short of amazing views of New York City and Long Island City.  We also took pictures in the common grounds both inside and outside the hotel.  We've only seen a handful of pictures and they are AWESOME.

We Recommend the Paper Factory for events, vacation, or just a weekend away from home.  It's convenient to the City three train stops and your in Manhattan.

Thank you for you helping making our Wedding Weekend Spectacular!

We can't wait to come back!  

Celeste and Claudio
11/09/2018

William v

4 star rating Very nice hotel with a good vibe Dear William,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments as it is truly our pleasure to see your 10 days stay was memorable one.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, concierge team tips and the historic building that we are lucky enough to reside in.

Please know that we will be sharing your comments with our team and once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We all hope to see you very soon for another NYC adventure!
6/27/2018

Jon

Not a great location but easy access to subway. Well decorated and comfortable rooms. Very cool common areas when you enter and nice, helpful staff 9/04/2018

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
1/01/1970

joyce

Room was large. I noticed in one review it was mentioned room was difficult to. Heat. Actually I didn’t have a problem. Always warm. Loved the large shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. 2/16/2019

bitchofliving

A funky, hipster hotel that was fairly enjoyable. My major criticism is the overall customer service. A truly slow and often times very forgetful front desk, no luggage carts at check-in (after a very long 10-hour drive), and an inconsistent bar that had no regular hours. One great positive was the proximity to public transport, with the subway literally across the street from the front door. 10/10/2018

wanderlustMBA

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Marga V

5 star rating Modern hotel with eye for detail, saving you money, close to Manhattan We spend 4 nights at The Paper Factory in Long Island City. No regrets about choosing to stay at the Paper Factory, as the location is conveniently located next to metrostation 36th street which is very close to Manhattan (2 stops). We walked around in the neighborhoods and never ever felt uncomfortable or unsafe at all.

Friendly welcome at reception. Hotel has been decorated with eye for detail and modern design. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds which gave a good sleep. We didn't use the optional breakfast but it is available at 15$ pp. Clean towels provided every day and new bedsheets upon request. Free complimentary coffee and tea in the room. The receptionists can inform you about restaurants in the neighbourhood (try 'Dutch Kills Centraal' or the lively mexican cantina 'Tacuba'), using the metro and they have leaflets for most of New York's attractions available.

On the day we left we were able to leave our luggage for some more hours to pick up later. More
6/20/2018

Zoe W.

5 star rating Stayed here over the Christmas weekend. It was my second time staying here, with the first time being two years ago. Like last time, I had a lovely experience. The staff were all very nice, the room was clean and beautifully decorated (the whole hotel is beautifully decorated with an eclectic but warm aesthetic that I love). I also love the location because it's quieter and less busy than you would experience if you stayed in Manhattan, but is still very close to Manhattan. Plus, we found free street parking right next to the hotel immediately upon arrival, which is a huge convenience. I also love the products they use for the shower gel and shampoo/conditioner in the rooms, they smell wonderful.

My ONLY complaint, but it was more my fault, was that the hotel restaurant (which is now called Lily Valley instead of Mundo) is advertised as being open 5-11pm Tuesday through Saturday, but the kitchen closes at 10pm, which seems pretty early to me. We got there expecting to be able to have a late dinner at 10 (which I thought was plenty of time since it closed at 11) and were told, very apologetically, that the kitchen closed at 10. I would love it if they extended their hours or made it more clear that the kitchen closed at 10 on their website, especially since the hotel has no room service. We experienced the same thing in the morning, where we got to the restaurant for breakfast/brunch at 11am and were told they close at 11am. To me that's a little early on a Sunday to close, and again I would love if they extended their hours to close at 12pm. But other than that, it was a great hotel stay, and I look forward to staying there again.
12/30/2017

Limor C.

5 star rating What a gorgeous place, me and my fiancé dined at the Mundo New York, the Restutante down by the lobby. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is elegant. I really enjoyed spending my thank giving day here. Staff is courteous and pleasant

Highly recommend!!
11/24/2016

Yonatan K.

5 star rating Very cool hotel everything here is very rustic I love displace the rooms comfortable and The price is ridiculous very cheap, comfortable to get to the city from here 11/20/2016

Jeff

Surprisingly nice place. Room was well laid out and the hotel has great decor. Front desk was helpful and the price was good value. There was a small problem with the room and the front desk and facilities fixed erverything quickly. Great experience overall 12/01/2018

Matars_Z

4 star rating Fair choice with great staff and significant noise problems. The hotel has a modern industrial decor that is fun except for the cold cement floors in the rooms which don't make for a 'warm' feel. Alot of gimmicky 'new' elements. It also has a super friendly staff that welcome you and make for a nice stay- nothing like 90% of NYC properties where you might as well be an unwelcome fly. There is convenient access to the subway, but an Uber can also get you to the city pretty fast and at low cost.

The major issue with this hotel is the crazy amount of noise generated all hours of day and certainly at 1 am, 2 am, 3 am (despite a rule that they should not be operating at that time) at the car dealership and repair place next door. Essentially they have car deliveries that arrive at odd hours, with the hotel having zero control in stopping them - and they make so much noise unloading them, its impossible to sleep through it. They start early with repairs and end late. This is a huge flaw if you face that side. Thus, I would not stay here again unless I didn't have a better choice, or I would make sure not to stay on the side facing the car dealership. Good value, however, if you cannot afford the Manhattan prices on popular holidays.
1/13/2019

Adam M.

5 star rating My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 2/13/2018

Prince E.

5 star rating Yup yup this place is beautiful, my friend P.K reviewed the location for his article and man oh man, it came out great, food, drinks and service !! 2/27/2017

Ashley K.

4 star rating Staying at at hotel in my hometown of Astoria/LIC was definitely a strange feeling but Paper Factory Hotel made me want to do it every time I go back. Bae and I stayed there for our wedding night and the night after and we had a very good time! The staff was super accommodating, (bonus points for sending us up some prosecco, guys), our room was clean & cozy (not very big but what can you expect, it's NYC), and the little cafe by the lobby serves some GOOD espresso. We weren't too impressed with breakfast in the restaurant but the good thing about the hotel is that you're in walking distance of many great brunch places (SUPER shout out to Chela & Garnacha - Latina-owned!) that Queens has to offer.

Also, the lobby of the hotel is just super cute. It's definitely a place for creatives, there's a piano, pool table, and lots of other fun things to do! I do wish there had been a bar open down there though with some live music.

Looking forward to seeing what the Paper Factory can bring this part of LIC. I will gladly go back/host an even there in the future! Thank you for making our wedding weekend great! :)
6/05/2018

Darya

The most amazing place I've ever stayed in.

It's brilliantly decorated in different styles - vintage, modern, loft and, all in all - it's absolutely beautiful combination, a sort of fusion of a perfect kind.

It's just 3 stops away on subway from the centre of Manhattan.

I highly recommend it to everyone because of the friendly costs and comfortable staying.
2/15/2019

Tonicia

The hotel is a gem. I stay here often and the rooms are constantly clean, the service is constantly kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, unique and the only place I stay when I come to New York! 11/11/2018

zefer7

4 star rating Art and Hospitality My daughter has been staying in The Paper Factory Hotel, once a year at Christmas-New Year time. This is her 3rd or 4th time visiting with her two babies. She is very happy with the room and restaurants nearby. She gets take-out food and eats in the Hotel. The rooms are artful and some have a view of Manhattan. Great place for short weekender, couples or families. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! Good prices, too. Also, good subway connections. 1/06/2019

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

S. H.

5 star rating Held a corporate dinner here with all in attendance staying at this hotel. The rooms were really cool, the dinner was amazing and the service was great. I enjoyed working with Daniella for dinner and Yenny for the meeting rooms. We encountered some challenges because of a hurricane but they were both very easy to work with and helped us a great deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!!
9/11/2017

Doctor

Very nice hotel in a great location. It’s close enough to Manhattan if you want to go to bars, but centered perfectly to avoid too much traffic. The hotel itself was very clean and housekeeping was on point. The staff was also friendly and helpful. You can even request a mini fridge and microwave free of charge. 11/11/2018

tmzk02

5 star rating Wonderful from the moment we stepped inside!!!!! Omg!!!! This place is beautiful and I hv never been treated so well.. Stephanie assisted us with Everything and then some.. Including a bonus upgrade(a loft) that was very unexpected... Thank you sooo much.. I rate this place 20 stars!!!! 7/25/2018

Genia

Check in was fast and the woman who checked us in was very nice and helpful. Hotel is clean with unique decor. Also it's in a location near a lot of great restaurants. 11/19/2018

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
1/01/1970

Roman

Great staff, absolutely original interior and rooms, everything new and clean. Great breakfast! Easy access to Manhattan - the metro station is just 50 meters from the hotel entrance - R line, that takes you in 3 stops to central park, six stops directly to Times Square, and further 34th street for Empire state, Brooklyn bridge, etc... will come again! 10/16/2018

Nick

Very different from the usual chain experience. Great staff and nice rooms with a fantastic aesthetic all around. Location was perfect for our purposes, being near to several notable venues. All told, a great hotel we will definitely be considering again in the future. 11/11/2018

Tash H.

5 star rating Great hotel! It's definitely more spacious than any hotel in Manhattan for this price range. Will return. 9/23/2018

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/11/2018

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/06/2018

Jen M.

4 star rating Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant, good food and drinks at the bar.  Parking is tough and no valet.  Subway is across the street.  The only negative I have to say is the very strong smell of men's cologne(which they pipe in to create atmosphere) entering and exiting the hotel. 5/28/2017

Kitty2222

5 star rating Needed to be close to the city, comfortable at a reasonable price. Close to Manhattan, subway right outside the building. Clean, large, hip & comfortable. Interesting decor. Not boring. Our morning coffee and croissant were included. We were not looking for an interesting neighborhood or restaurants. We just needed affordability and comfort. This was perfect. 5/28/2018