Prince E.

5 star rating Yup yup this place is beautiful, my friend P.K reviewed the location for his article and man oh man, it came out great, food, drinks and service !! 2/27/2017

Meaghan L.

5 star rating Amazing hotel in a great location. The breakfast included in the room was amazing. The staff was very nice. I highly recommend staying at the paper factory. 7/07/2018

ricardosou

5 star rating Highly recommended Nice, cosy and comfortable option to stay in NY. Just 2 subway stops from Manhattan, very quiet, extremely clean, good bedding and towels. Spacious room with closet, safe, chest of drawers, table, TV with plenty of free on demand chanels and very good internet connection. Coffee machine, free bottle of water. Spacious bathroom with free toiletries. Charming decoration in industrial style, leather sofas, plenty of cool lighting fixtures. Courteous people at front desk. And last, but not least, affordable prices. Highly reccomended. 6/18/2018

Kim C

5 star rating Fabulous Hospitality This is belated review of a September stay. I ended up at the PFH very late one night after being locked out of the condo where I was to stay. Arturo was so kind to help me out of a stressful bind with a gorgeous suite for an incredible price. As (bad) luck would have it, I spent the next day in the ER and I missed the last flight out. Not only did Arturo accommodate my need for a room for a second night, he and his Brazilian background music helped me throughout a sleepless night as I researched my potentially frightening diagnosis. I'm happy to say that, months later, the diagnosis has been ruled out. And, I'm more than happy to share my very positive experience with travelers who appreciate service that goes above and beyond. More 11/09/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Kendra at the front desk is amazing We stayed a 4 day weekend with multiple guests and Kendra really went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She helped us with several questions throughout the night! She went above and beyond. 3/22/2019

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Customer service Kendra was absolutely amazing ! Best customer service and really took care of us. Room is fantastic, spacious and beautiful. I recommend coming here, so cute and very antique chic! You won’t regret it. 3/31/2019

Limor C.

5 star rating What a gorgeous place, me and my fiancé dined at the Mundo New York, the Restutante down by the lobby. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is elegant. I really enjoyed spending my thank giving day here. Staff is courteous and pleasant

Highly recommend!!
11/24/2016

Nathan

Great location and funky decor. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, though not very decorated. Subway (M/R) is right outside the front door and just 2 stops from Manhattan. You're also just a couple blocks from lots of shops, restaurants, and museums. Overall, great spot. 12/07/2018

Douglas

Excellent accommodations, excellent location. Check-in was quick and staff very friendly and helpful, made great suggestion for nearby restaurant. Room is quite large compared to other places I have stayed in NYC. I like that the shower is in a separate room from the sink and toilet-- allows people to get themselves ready more efficiently. Nice neighborhood. Rooms and hallways are thoughtfully decorated, although the building itself is beautiful. It appears that they are building out a new front lobby, but this did not interfere with my stay, nor was there any noise from the construction. My room was very clean and in excellent repair. Subway station across the street. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! 5/04/2019

tmzk02

5 star rating Wonderful from the moment we stepped inside!!!!! Omg!!!! This place is beautiful and I hv never been treated so well.. Stephanie assisted us with Everything and then some.. Including a bonus upgrade(a loft) that was very unexpected... Thank you sooo much.. I rate this place 20 stars!!!! 7/25/2018

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
1/01/1970

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. 1/01/1970

Stephanie L.

5 star rating I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for our anniversary on 12/6/16. I was a little worried because of some of the previous reviews I had read on here but I had a great experience. I booked for the queen room and when we arrived they told me they upgraded our room to the Penthouse free of charge because we were celebrating. It was an awesome gesture that I didn't expect at all. The staff member upfront (I forgot her name, sorry!) was incredibly sweet and helpful. Parking seems like it would be an issue but we found a spot right in front of the hotel. This place was awesome and spotless looks just like the photos on their website. The only thing I have to say is the Penthouse suite was freezing cold, we turned on both heaters and it was cold the entire night until the morning. Other than that, this place was great. Even little breakfast spot was awesome. Thank you again for the upgrade! Will definitely stay again. 12/16/2016

cinenyi

I loved this place!!! Its a little on the pricey side but it's amazing. We were greeted by the girl at the counter, very funny.

Everything there was old, like 1960s style!!!

The room was huge, the bed was comfy. They have a bar, pool table, and a few other things. Don't forget to ask for a free pen!!!

The rooms are decorated with abstract art, old desks and chairs. And the ceilings are extremely high. It is a little cold there.
4/07/2019

KJ K.

4 star rating Been here twice. Willing to return because of few reasons: I love how they're so close to the metro station, their interiors, and friendly staffs.

First time the staff had upgraded our room to a Manhattan loft. It was during winter time, and the room would never get warmer... but I still enjoyed the experience because the staffs tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Second time we stayed at the first floor standard kitchenette room, thinking that first floor would not be an issue. Well, we didn't have much problems, but the bathroom smelled....like a sewer.... not to an extreme like 'oh my can't stay here' but every time I stepped into the bathroom I realized I did not want to breathe as much as I could. And the bed would make squeaky noise every time I moved.

But despite of all of these, I am willing to come back, try them at least one more time. Love how it's a little distant from Manhattan but still close to the metro station, and it was easier to find a cheaper parking lot near LIC.
7/14/2017

Near M.

4 star rating You may be wondering why a native, born and bred New Yorker is doing a review of a hotel in NYC but I'll explain. A friend of mine booked this hotel a few days ago and another friend of mine used to work here, so its given me the opportunity to get to check out the hotel, see the rooms and amenities it offers. I wanted to give this place a 5 out of 5 stars but there's a few key issues with this place that has made me give it a big time 4 out of 5 stars. And in some ways I feel generous giving it a 4. Either way, read on!

Location: Some may find the location inconvenient, weird, shady, "out of the way" but if you ask me, the location is perfect. Now I understand it's not right smack dab in the middle of Manhattan, in the tourist, Disineyfied trappings of Times Square or across the street from Central Park on the west or east wing of 59th but that's totally okay. This location is more of a piece of "real New York City" and you're not far away at all from Manhattan or north Brooklyn, around quite a few attractions and there's no shortage of eats in the area.

You'll be in the L.I.C/Astoria section of Queens. Up the Block from the hotel is the Museum of Moving Images which is a wonderful museum and you'll be next to Steinway street which is flooded with plenty of restaurants. To the west of Astoria and on Broadway you got even more options. Italian, Brazilian/Latin, Middle Eastern,Mediterranean, Asian the list doesn't end. And of course you have your chain restaurants if desire familiarity. If you find yourself on Jackson Ave or Vernon BLVD, then there's even more to desire.

You'll be next to Astoria Park and Gantry State Park which are both wonderful parks. And you're next to a plethora of trains to get you right into Manhattan. The R,M leaves you right in front of the hotel but the 7,E, N, W are a few minutes walks away.

You'll be in an industrial/residential area but there's not much too worry about really. Lots of construction going on with new sky rises being built.

Decor/Style: This is probably the biggest draw of the hotel. This hotel is truly groovy and has a completely distinct feel from many other hotels you'll go to anywhere. It's cozy, loungey, artsy and a lot of thought went into how the hotel was created. As I was lucky enough to see a few of the rooms through my connection, I can say that no room is the same and every room has its own unique touch and feel. Everywhere you look in the hotel there's art and every floor has a neat little lounge spot with comfy sofas. It's a mixture of the rustic past of the place meeting modern art.

There's also a nice little cafe on the main floor which is fairly priced.

And I will have to say this hotel has the best hotel-gym I've EVER been too. I've been to a good number of hotels and I am sure there's a hotel out there that blows this gym's hotel out the water BUT I still feel this hotel-gym very good. There's more then the bare bones minimum. There's a very durable kick boxing bag, good tread mills, good number of weights, resistance bands, yoga mats and a nice boom box. If you're a fitness buff and want a nice workout before you hit the streets, this can do you pretty well.

There's also a very big lounge area on the main floor and a really nice lounge rooftop area on the top floor. Which I believe can be used unless its reserved. There's also some shows that happen here which I think is on the basement area or something. I don't know but the staff can inform you I am sure.

The ugly and bad: So, with all the praise I've been giving it, I have to get down to some points that totally suck dirty booty. One of the things that pissed me off greatly about this place is the elevators. TERRIBLE. This place is only 5 floors so thankfully you have the option of going up the stairs without having to catch an asthma attack but there's no excuse for the elevators to be as slow as they are. Maybe its because its old but I don't give a damn. On the bright side, the stair cases are really neat to take a trip on so I suppose its not that bad. Still, its TOO slow for an elevator that has to go 5 floors.

Secondly, the place is still having a lot of work being done on it. I guess that's not totally a bad thing but its quite cheesy to see construction and renovation going on in the hotel when you're staying there. Once things are finalized, I can give this place a big time 4 or perfect 5.

Either way, I still highly recommend this place and don't let my negatives of the place deter you. If you can afford it, definitely book it and make sure you have time to not only explore NYC but spend time in the hotel. It's definitely a hotel I feel you would want to spend time in and not only have as a sleeping hub. It's so groovy, comfy and cozy that I would definitely want to make the best out of shelling out some cash to actually hang out here. BOOK IT.
3/08/2017

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

Wally S.

5 star rating Very lovely hotel, my husband and I love it, stood there twice already!

Beautiful clean rooms, staff very friendly and helpful!

The restaurant ooooh so good, chef Eli creates the best dishes, had Tuna Carpaccio Daily, best ever also the crisp Arancini, but everything is so delicious!

On the minus side, last year we tried to stay 10days until after Halloween, but couldn't, they had a private Halloween Party, which was ok. However all the sofas, chairs and tables were removed from the lobby, with nowhere to sit, (we were told we could sit in the restaurant, which of course is not an option), the whole week leading up to the day before the party. This was extremely unprofessional from the management, it felt like the hotel guests were not welcome any longer!

Why I gave 5stars? We loved the staff, restaurant and rooms and very convenient to public transportation.

The last 3days where we had to switch hotels, because of the party we went to the Boro Hotel very close by, also a very lovely hotel, great staff and very accommodating! Definitely 5stars!
4/16/2018

Adam M.

5 star rating My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 2/13/2018

ChefGeorge561

5 star rating Great place near LGA First time here Very helpful staff ! Called them from out of state and they helped us pull off sons birthday suprise. Room was as advertised online and was ready when we arrived. We will revisit for sure. 8/30/2019

Marga V

5 star rating Modern hotel with eye for detail, saving you money, close to Manhattan We spend 4 nights at The Paper Factory in Long Island City. No regrets about choosing to stay at the Paper Factory, as the location is conveniently located next to metrostation 36th street which is very close to Manhattan (2 stops). We walked around in the neighborhoods and never ever felt uncomfortable or unsafe at all.

Friendly welcome at reception. Hotel has been decorated with eye for detail and modern design. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds which gave a good sleep. We didn't use the optional breakfast but it is available at 15$ pp. Clean towels provided every day and new bedsheets upon request. Free complimentary coffee and tea in the room. The receptionists can inform you about restaurants in the neighbourhood (try 'Dutch Kills Centraal' or the lively mexican cantina 'Tacuba'), using the metro and they have leaflets for most of New York's attractions available.

On the day we left we were able to leave our luggage for some more hours to pick up later. More
6/20/2018

honest reviewer

5 star rating Compassionate stay... We were here for a funeral, so while most of our time here was a blur, we would like to comment on the constant kindness that was so graciously displayed toward us on every level. As we strolled in day after day, in black, rolling in extra bags, and forlorn faces, the staff here stuck with us, and afforded us human kindness above and beyond. This hotel is hipster cool, funky, clean, convenient, serves excellent food, and has the best staff ever. In memory of our beloved niece, we cannot thank you enough.. 7/27/2018

Ging

Loved the Harry Potter, artsy vibes in the hotel lobby!! Instagram heaven complete with red phone booths! I attended an event in the downstairs area and had an amazing time. Highly recommended. 10/20/2018

Renée

Beautiful decor, friendly service and very accommodating! I love the little coffee shop In the lobby. It was perfect for grabbing a cup of coffee on the way to find adventure. I You are near several train stops, just a very short walk to any of them. 11/19/2018

bitchofliving

A funky, hipster hotel that was fairly enjoyable. My major criticism is the overall customer service. A truly slow and often times very forgetful front desk, no luggage carts at check-in (after a very long 10-hour drive), and an inconsistent bar that had no regular hours. One great positive was the proximity to public transport, with the subway literally across the street from the front door. 10/10/2018

Tonicia

The hotel is a gem. I stay here often and the rooms are constantly clean, the service is constantly kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, unique and the only place I stay when I come to New York! 11/11/2018

zefer7

4 star rating Art and Hospitality My daughter has been staying in The Paper Factory Hotel, once a year at Christmas-New Year time. This is her 3rd or 4th time visiting with her two babies. She is very happy with the room and restaurants nearby. She gets take-out food and eats in the Hotel. The rooms are artful and some have a view of Manhattan. Great place for short weekender, couples or families. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! Good prices, too. Also, good subway connections. 1/06/2019

Molly L.

5 star rating I just accidentally posted this a tip, but I was here for a New Year's Eve party and this hotel is gorgeous! Beautiful bar, unique and classy interior. Definitely a fun place for a group of friends looking to stay in this area, saw a lot of family's and kids too. 1/02/2017

Faye M.

4 star rating The hotel is beautiful and has lots of charm and would stay again if I came back to New York the breakfast is great and great price and the area is so so but overall I liked it 9/02/2018

FlyBoy32725

5 star rating What a great hotel! This was the perfect girl’s trip getaway! The hotel is acroos the street from a subway station with easy access to Manhattan. The decor is very unique and fun to explore! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend! 9/05/2018

Arunia

Great artistic hotel. Nice bar and restaurant. Great for families and young adults. Lots of things to do in a close distance. 11/10/2018

Tyler

Friendly staff made our stay amazing. The hotel is comfortable, unique and convenient to the metro and attractions nearby. You get much more than you pay for. I would recommend and stay again. 6/20/2019

Andrea

Fantastic find, just outside of Manhattan. Easily get into the city with a subway stop on the corner. Friendly hotel staff and well designed room interior. I was shocked at the difference in price compared to the city. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone visiting NYC. 5/26/2018

Mili

Great hospitality for a group of 34 people. The staff was friendly and welcoming, they would do anything to accommodate our requests. We were in general very happy with the service offered. The location also is convenient. 8/31/2018

Bailey

If anybody is trying to find good deals for hotels visit HotelBuIly. com booked a hotel on there and they had the best rates anywhere!

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it.
5/28/2019

Jeffrey L

5 star rating Five minutes from Manhattan at half the price! OK -- so you want to pay $300-$400/night for a cramped hotel room and a view of a window across the alley, just to be in Manhattan? Why? Paper Factory Hotel in Astoria, Queens has a subway stop that puts you in Manhattan in five minutes! We've stayed here four times in past four or five years during our visits, and truly enjoyed it! The rooms are large, by NYC standards for sure....also clean and well-appointed. Bed and bedding is comfortable, and bathroom is spotless. Here's a plus! If you're there in the hotter parts of summer, the A/C in the rooms really works well! And, since this renovated building was historically a paper factory over 100 years ago, you can see the history in the walls, ceilings, windows, and floors throughout -- very cool! The hotel offered a free continental breakfast daily during our stay in May 2019, as their restaurant and bar were under renovation...not sure if they'll keep that up, but regardless...we'll always be happy to stay here! Priced right and in the right place! 8/10/2019

Kitty2222

5 star rating Needed to be close to the city, comfortable at a reasonable price. Close to Manhattan, subway right outside the building. Clean, large, hip & comfortable. Interesting decor. Not boring. Our morning coffee and croissant were included. We were not looking for an interesting neighborhood or restaurants. We just needed affordability and comfort. This was perfect. 5/28/2018

Toya

Beautiful hotel with great, friendly staff. Loved the outdoor bar area and food truck. Very eclectic decor...just my style. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will DEFINITELY be going back!!! Great for a getaway with a loved one or alone!!! Can't say enough good things about this place👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 8/07/2019

Genia

Check in was fast and the woman who checked us in was very nice and helpful. Hotel is clean with unique decor. Also it's in a location near a lot of great restaurants. 11/19/2018

Lani

The moment we booked our accommodations to the moment we walked into the hotel and during our stay, we enjoyed our experience. The staff are inviting and accommodating. Shout out to Alisha, you were very professional, gracious and I appreciate your effort to go above and beyond. The atmosphere and decor of this hotel was very unique and compelling. The I highly recommend this hotel. 2/24/2019

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/11/2018

Kim H.

5 star rating This was my second stay at the Paper Factory Hotel, the first time for work and the most recent for mother/daughter weekend in NY. I LOVE the stylish/funky decor both in the lobby and the rooms. The rooms are actually pretty roomy (especially for NYC), with high ceilings and lots of windows. We stayed in the deluxe queen and if was perfect for the 4 of us -  1 queen, 1 king, a fold out couch, desk, refrigerator, and microwave.

The front desk staff and the manager were all great during our entire stay. My daughter had left a stuffed animal in her bed and the cleaning staff accidentally picked it up with the bedding to be laundered (it was white, just like the sheets). When we called the front desk and the manager immediately called the laundry company. They found the stuffed animal, but it had gone through the laundry and wasn't looking too good, so the PFH manager went to a toy store and bought a replacement and had it for my daughter when we got back that night - AMAZING service.

Although the hotel is not within walking distance of much, you can take a 5 min. Uber ride to some of the best Greek food in NY, or jump on the subway (across the street from the hotel front door) and be in Manhattan in 10-15 min.
3/30/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

Jeff

Surprisingly nice place. Room was well laid out and the hotel has great decor. Front desk was helpful and the price was good value. There was a small problem with the room and the front desk and facilities fixed everything quickly. Great experience overall. 12/05/2018

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

beckyalexandered2018

4 star rating Funky and spacious hotel We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us. Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors. The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there... We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us.

Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors.

The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there and we had to get a cab back! Check before you board for later nights/weekends.

There was confusion over the summer party - we arrived to be told that there would be their annual party the last night of our stay due to end at 5am. We were worried about this as travelling with children and that is very late to hear party noise. In the end it was postponed due to weather but we really should have been told much earlier - we booked ages ago. The manager was again very nice about this and offered ear plugs but for such a big night I was surprised they even took regular bookings - maybe this needs more thought for the future - discuss with guests on booking that night, not when they check in!

The area is not smart and a bit quiet to walk around if on your own at night but we loved the Momi which is a 7-8 min walk away and tried a few of the local restaurants which were all excellent - the hotel gave us a great map with their locations. We also went to the amazing open air pool in Astoria - best get a cab there - free to go in but you need to take a good lock - check their many rules on line before going!

We would stay here again. More
8/13/2018

Luci B.

5 star rating I came for Junxion's New Years Eve event and had an absolute blast. I am not someone who celebrates NYE, it's too expensive, too cold to dress up, the crowds are obnoxious. I prefer to spend it in someone's home, but this year I branched out and am so glad I did.

I will say, they event was absolutely overcrowded. Intimidatingly so. The line for coat check snaked around the ground floor of the hotel, and was so slow moving we elected to hold our coats the whole night which ended up being alright because a lot of the areas of the hotel were chilly, even with the crowds. Going up stairs, through entryways, even down hallways, was always a matter of being part of a slow moving, shuffling line. Come pre-gamed, you're going to need it to keep your cool.

Speaking of alcohol, the events main downfall was a lack of it, which is a little ridiculous given that's a large focus of the NYE event. Traveling through multiple floors, multiple dance areas, a restaurant, a party bus in a courtyard, multiple art installations- we managed to only find one bar and they were out of a lot of things. Standard domestic beer was $8. It was actually really comical, we spent a considerable amount of time "hunting" for booze, asking people who worked there, flagging down people holding drinks who would give us such answers as "I don't know, someone else got this for me" or "Go back the way you came, up a flight of stairs, make a right, then a left, go through the dance floor, make another left, and there should be a bar there"- only to arrive and be given another set of directions to the mythical bar. The entire place was a pulsing, well decorated labyrinthine that made finding booze a game. If I hadn't been in such a good mood, this would have been a MAJOR issue. Bathrooms were more plentiful, but not by much, and often required similarly convoluted directions.

Possibly more problematic was the lack of water or other non-alcoholic liquids. It was equally as impossible to find these, and this is actually dangerous when you have a party that runs from 9pm-6am and has people dancing in some areas that can become quite hot, and for those who were drunk I can't even imagine how they felt. We ended up getting lost and finding a back hallway for workers where cases of ginger ale happened to be. We ended up stocking up on a bunch and taking them out to people in desperate need. People for the most part were in good spirits, but this is an easily avoidable situation.

This was my first Junxion event and it was absolutely the people who were involved who made this such a great time. The vibe was beyond friendly and inclusive, there was no drama or sour faces even with such shortcomings of the event itself. There were so many different kinds of music that everyone had a space they felt comfortable in. And attendees went all out with their costumes- I definitely saw more glitter and wings and body paint than little black dresses.

I would absolutely come back next year, but do hope the organizers do things differently, and will come prepared in case they don't.
1/05/2017

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Joanne K.

4 star rating I'd definitely go back here if i ever needed a room in queens again! The space is so cute. And also everything was clean. Also the brand for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner etc is good too. And i generally don't use the ones the hotels give. My only complaint would be there's no parking, and only one elevator!! 5/28/2017

bobmR839FX

5 star rating Awesome and honest staff Went into hotel looking to book group for next October, 2020. Met with Jon and he is a true gentleman and honest guy. Gave great tips, pointers, recommendations and wasn't only pushing his hotel. Booked room for friends coming into town to next week and know it will be perfect. Thanks Shane for your attention and service. 8/22/2019

Holls D.

4 star rating The staff was super friendly and helpful.  The room was clean and spacious.  Would definitely recommend this hotel. 8/06/2017

Pamela J.

4 star rating When we travel to New York, we love to stay at the paper factory. We have stayed twice. The furniture and ambiance is very pleasing and stylish. There is a restaurant by the entrance that is temporarily closed but they have buffet style breakfast till 10:30. There is a little shop inside that sells pastries and coffee till 11am then opens again at 3 for small meals/snacks/beer/wine. There is also small activities like a cool chess table to use in the lobby.

The rooms are quite simple but very pleasurable. No mini fridge or microwaves in the basic rooms but the beds are cozy and the room is stylish.
9/17/2018

Jon

Not a great location but easy access to subway. Well decorated and comfortable rooms. Very cool common areas when you enter and nice, helpful staff 9/04/2018

Laura R.

4 star rating The hotel was quite clean and had a very unique design. I loved the look-many of the original paper factory hardware was visible- and the attention to detail. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Close to the subway and a 7-11, and the courtyard bar is super cute. As of the writing of this review, the hotel is under construction: so there is a little noise and aesthetic disruption during you stay. It didn't really affect my experience, however. I'll probably stay there again next time I'm in NYC; the location was close to Manhattan but far enough to enjoy a little quiet. 8/21/2019

Luca P.

5 star rating Super friendly staff. Nicely decorated rooms, unique hotel, the drink at the bar were nice. Tried a Negroni and an old fashioned. The vibe is tranquil and easygoing 10/14/2018

Noelle B.

5 star rating Wonderful hotel! I booked this through HotelTonight for a special occasion and called prior to check-in to request a nice room if possible. Mariana was the one who took my call and she totally came through!! We were set up in a lovely suite and we were even able to check in early. The room was HUGE (NYC studio apt huge) and had a great view so we got to see the sunset over the city. The decor all over the hotel was very interesting and as other people have mentioned, the gym was pretty nice and spacious (compared to other hotel gyms). We unfortunately didn't get to check out the restaurant and bar downstairs but both seemed pretty lively. I had such an amazing time here from beginning to end and I won't hesitate to come back!! They really made my surprise gift that much more special. 6/15/2017

Brucr B.

5 star rating Hotel is in an industrial area so parking is difficult. But once that problem is solved, the hotel is well worth it. Very interesting decor. Rooms a bit tight but very clean. Staff was all very accommodating and professional. Did not partake of the breakfast in the hotel. Went across the street to a corner luncheonette and had a great breakfast sandwich.  Back to the hotel:

We were on 5th floor but not much to see out of the windows unless you like to see factory roofs.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only complaint was that the area starts working (hence a bit noisy) in the morning. If you are a late sleeper might be a problem. Otherwise this hotel is a great and interesting choice.
10/08/2016

RaymondS1241

4 star rating Great hotel, staff friendly, great location, No refrigerator in the room. This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for... This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for this, but every hotel i have ever stayed at around the world has provided this Missed item within the room of the paper factory hotel. This is a nice hotel facility, staff great, and it would be a positive added service with a porter/concierge service for taking bags and guests to rooms and explaining the facilities of the hotel and in the rooms. More 8/27/2018

Zachary M

5 star rating Visited during Graduation There were 5 of us at the hotel. We stayed on recommendations from family. The hotel was under construction when we were there, however we weren’t there for the hotel restaurant. The rooms were more than enough space, very clean and well maintained. The hotel has a great feel and you feel very safe in the area! There are 2 subways stations very close that zip right into the action! The staff was attentive, very pleasant and knowledgeable! Even tho the restaurant was closed the breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day! When visiting New York again we would absolutely chose the Paper Factory! 7/16/2019

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
2/12/2019

Rohan M

5 star rating A whole new world at the Paper Factory Hotel! Some friends and I finally took a trip to New York City and decided the Paper Factory Hotel would be our home base for the week. After a pleasantly short drive from Laguardia airport, we checked in and figured we would get a lay of the land before embarking on our escapades. With a great mix of urban and retro styles throughout the building, there was always something inventively unique looking back at you. We found ourselves meeting in the lobby most days to plan out our days while the staff gave us some advise on how to best navigate the city and make the absolute most of every day. Between the quick trip to Manhattan and genuine vibes all around, The Paper Factory made our trip to New York more than memorable! More 5/31/2018

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 2/12/2019

Jim H.

4 star rating Really great atmosphere and decor. The bar has great quality brews and spirits. There's a shuffleboard and ping pong room as well as a nice patio. The rooms are nice, though, the harder bed with softer pillows was a bit uncomfortable. But the bathroom and shower both were very clean.

The location is great, it's right next to the MTA and a quick ride into Manhattan or to LGA.

The only real issue I had was the service at the cafe counter being slow at best and interrupted by a manager more concerned with a rag being in a bucket than the one customer who had already been waiting for a few minutes for a cup of coffee.

Otherwise, this will be my go to for my business travel into NYC for the foreseeable future.
9/27/2018

Matthew R.

4 star rating Mid sized Boutique Hotel at the intersection of Astoria and Long Island City. Booked it through booking.com and got a really good deal for two nights. Rooms were clean and pretty big for a small hotel. Rest of hotel was well organized, Front desk was efficient. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel (separate review), and the downstairs space is often used for large parties.  HVAC system in room kept place comfortable.

One minor quibble is they have to fix the elevator. it has that annoying "hey, I'm not exactly at the floor level, so let me bounce the people in the car a few times to find it" thing going for it.
3/03/2017

Ultraportdrive

4 star rating Trendy hotel in Queens Stayed a few nights at this fairly new hotel. Nice feature are the high ceilings in the rooms, which give you the impression of space. Actually the rooms are spacious if I compare it with the manhattan hotel we had the second part of the week. Also the neighbor hood was quite at night, for good nights sleep. The shower did not have much water pressure, but was okay.

The lobby and restaurant were being refurbished, but did not matter as we went outside for breakfast and dinner.

Good hotel for visiting NY as the metro almost stops on the doorstep.
8/16/2019

Shadya N.

5 star rating Came here for my anniversary and fell completely in love. From the moment you walk in to the minute you check out, this hotel blows your mind. So much art and adventure into such a small space. The lobby is lovely, not to mention the amazing wall of books. The rooms are cozy and much different than your average stay. I stayed on the fourth floor and it was amazing. Wood floors, wood desks and cabinets, wood everywhere! They also have an outdoor area along with a restaurant/bar that is also very nice. This is a hotel you stay and enjoy. I wish I got more of it honestly! The only downside is the paper thin walls. You could hear absolutely every door open and shut, every footstep in the hall and the beautiful sound of the city which of course is expected. I'd stay here every time I'm in the area for sure! 8/22/2016

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
1/01/1970

Julia

Such a cool hotel. Very modern industrial in style and design. Clean rooms, good coffee,nice amenities all around. Would recommend to my extremely picky grandmother which is saying A LOT. 8/27/2018

Cyrus P.

4 star rating Nice hotel bar, a bit quiet, but so is that area, especially at night. A nice and quiet place to come and have drinks away from the rest of the madness in Astoria.

Service was good.
12/26/2016

LB-Dude

5 star rating Best Bet Near LGA / Queens Stayed here when flights were canceled and we’re now scripting reasons to come back. Super-cool property in a great neighborhood with an excellent staff. They pointed us to a great Mexican restaurant down the street near Kaufman Studios (Tacuba Cantina - really good).

Dig the vibe fueled by the unique design, not just the rooms but also the lobby and outdoor patio.
8/22/2019

Jen M.

4 star rating Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant, good food and drinks at the bar.  Parking is tough and no valet.  Subway is across the street.  The only negative I have to say is the very strong smell of men's cologne(which they pipe in to create atmosphere) entering and exiting the hotel. 5/28/2017

Matars_Z

4 star rating Fair choice with great staff and significant noise problems. The hotel has a modern industrial decor that is fun except for the cold cement floors in the rooms which don't make for a 'warm' feel. Alot of gimmicky 'new' elements. It also has a super friendly staff that welcome you and make for a nice stay- nothing like 90% of NYC properties where you might as well be an unwelcome fly. There is convenient access to the subway, but an Uber can also get you to the city pretty fast and at low cost.

The major issue with this hotel is the crazy amount of noise generated all hours of day and certainly at 1 am, 2 am, 3 am (despite a rule that they should not be operating at that time) at the car dealership and repair place next door. Essentially they have car deliveries that arrive at odd hours, with the hotel having zero control in stopping them - and they make so much noise unloading them, its impossible to sleep through it. They start early with repairs and end late. This is a huge flaw if you face that side. Thus, I would not stay here again unless I didn't have a better choice, or I would make sure not to stay on the side facing the car dealership. Good value, however, if you cannot afford the Manhattan prices on popular holidays.
1/13/2019

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Cintia

Awesome decor and ambiance. There's nothing to do near the hotel but it's two minutes from the subway station.

I had an issue with the deadbolt lock that management did not fix even after I politely explained that the door wouldn't lock, they told me that they would look into it, but nothing was fixed. I didn't want to make a big deal since I was busy enjoying my vacation but I think they should have done something to fix it or at least offer another room with a working door lock. I brought this up to their attention twice.
8/18/2019

Nick

Very different from the usual chain experience. Great staff and nice rooms with a fantastic aesthetic all around. Location was perfect for our purposes, being near to several notable venues. All told, a great hotel we will definitely be considering again in the future. 11/11/2018

Minx I.

4 star rating I attended the hotel's Junxion Halloween event in 2016.

The decor in the main lobby was eye catching, and made you want to wander through everything. I had the opportunity of being an artist that was painting live at the event,and I had a wonderful time. the energy and vibe of the guests were really inviting. Everyone was friendly and the staff was very informative.

At first, the layout of the hotel seems like a maze, but once you get a hang of it, you find yourself wandering enjoying your surroundings.

A lovey couple ended up falling in love with my painting and purchased it.

I had a great time.

The only thing I might complain about is the transportation. When they are many people leaving the hotel at the same time. catching your uber gets a little confusing. Which has nothing to do with the hotel, so my rating still remains positive. I will attend again.

2minxinx dot com
1/04/2017

Mishka

The Paper Factory Hotel is a very nice place to stay. The decor was beautiful and unique and the staff was very pleasant. Although we were only there for a night, we will definitely be staying here again in the future. 7/29/2018

Tiya B.

4 star rating Great customer service. Our room was upgraded upon arrival. The decor and ambiance is a photographer's dream. I called to have a note in the room and my husband was surprised with a nice hand written birthday card and a box of chocolates. The negatives are the room had a funny smell almost mildewy and there is construction next door( which was beyond their control) by 7am it was very noisy. I will stay here again after the construction is completed. 8/26/2016

Nathan S.

5 star rating Stayed here for a wedding. The staff is fantastic, incredibly accommodating and friendly. The subway was 1 block away, and the neighborhood is quiet (by NYC standards) I would stay here again next time i come to NY 8/07/2017