Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
2/12/2019

chides2017

5 star rating Industrial modern hotel with touches of eclectic flair Dear Chides2017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay. We are truly grateful for your kind review and your amazing rate. It is priceless to hear and read that our guest enjoyed both common areas design but rooms and accommodation as well.

We very much appreciate your comments, as they help us to improve our services. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team.

Warm regards

PF team
7/24/2018

tmzk02

5 star rating Wonderful from the moment we stepped inside!!!!! Omg!!!! This place is beautiful and I hv never been treated so well.. Stephanie assisted us with Everything and then some.. Including a bonus upgrade(a loft) that was very unexpected... Thank you sooo much.. I rate this place 20 stars!!!! 7/25/2018

FlyBoy32725

5 star rating What a great hotel! This was the perfect girl’s trip getaway! The hotel is acroos the street from a subway station with easy access to Manhattan. The decor is very unique and fun to explore! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend! 9/05/2018

Meaghan L.

5 star rating Amazing hotel in a great location. The breakfast included in the room was amazing. The staff was very nice. I highly recommend staying at the paper factory. 7/07/2018

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. 1/01/1970

barnone80

4 star rating Stylish and Comfortable This hotel was a pleasant surprise! The decor is urban chic with a lot of interesting mid-Century artifacts all around the hotel. The rooms are spacious for NYC and very comfortable. The rooms and common areas are nice and clean. The front desk staff is very nice. There is a coffee bar in the lobby and a we enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room. The neighborhood is quiet at night.

The subway station is close by, but my one criticism is that it can be hard to find parking if you have a car. There is a coffee house across the street, but most restaurants are several blocks away.
10/18/2018

Kyle

Spacious room. Clean. Food is great for complementary. Also bar bites at the in hotel bar were high quality. Staff very accommodating. 5 stars 11/11/2018

Julia

Such a cool hotel. Very modern industrial in style and design. Clean rooms, good coffee,nice amenities all around. Would recommend to my extremely picky grandmother which is saying A LOT. 8/27/2018

Roman

Great staff, absolutely original interior and rooms, everything new and clean. Great breakfast! Easy access to Manhattan - the metro station is just 50 meters from the hotel entrance - R line, that takes you in 3 stops to central park, six stops directly to Times Square, and further 34th street for Empire state, Brooklyn bridge, etc... will come again! 10/16/2018

Nick

Very different from the usual chain experience. Great staff and nice rooms with a fantastic aesthetic all around. Location was perfect for our purposes, being near to several notable venues. All told, a great hotel we will definitely be considering again in the future. 11/11/2018

RaymondS1241

4 star rating Great hotel, staff friendly, great location, No refrigerator in the room. This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for... This hotel is close to the subway of 36 street, easy to navigate. There are some great restaurant near by. The area felts safe. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable, We used the breakfast room on our stay and found it sufficed for one off use, however a broader selection of juices and freshly made OJ would be an improvement, the milks need to labeled, and maybe eggs to order would be a good practice. Dry cleaning service was used and this was done well, however we did need to see the front desk to retrieve the dry cleaning. The gymnasium was equipped for a reasonable workout, but if if you need a more solid training session there is a gym 10 min walk away for the cost of 20USD. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly, the first room we went to was not sufficient for my companions size to fit in the bed, so we asked for a room with a bigger bed. The staff could not do anything more to support us and provided a complimentary upgrade (thank you) it made sleeping much easier for my companion. The shower facility in the room was designed for tall people and the water pressure was great, the ROAM products a nice touch. What was lacking in the each of the rooms we were in, was a bar or mini fridge, not sure of the reasoning for this, but every hotel i have ever stayed at around the world has provided this Missed item within the room of the paper factory hotel. This is a nice hotel facility, staff great, and it would be a positive added service with a porter/concierge service for taking bags and guests to rooms and explaining the facilities of the hotel and in the rooms. More 8/27/2018

Tonicia

The hotel is a gem. I stay here often and the rooms are constantly clean, the service is constantly kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, unique and the only place I stay when I come to New York! 11/11/2018

Lani

The moment we booked our accommodations to the moment we walked into the hotel and during our stay, we enjoyed our experience. The staff are inviting and accommodating. Shout out to Alisha, you were very professional, gracious and I appreciate your effort to go above and beyond. The atmosphere and decor of this hotel was very unique and compelling. The I highly recommend this hotel. 2/24/2019

Noelle B.

5 star rating Wonderful hotel! I booked this through HotelTonight for a special occasion and called prior to check-in to request a nice room if possible. Mariana was the one who took my call and she totally came through!! We were set up in a lovely suite and we were even able to check in early. The room was HUGE (NYC studio apt huge) and had a great view so we got to see the sunset over the city. The decor all over the hotel was very interesting and as other people have mentioned, the gym was pretty nice and spacious (compared to other hotel gyms). We unfortunately didn't get to check out the restaurant and bar downstairs but both seemed pretty lively. I had such an amazing time here from beginning to end and I won't hesitate to come back!! They really made my surprise gift that much more special. 6/15/2017

nycglutenfree

4 star rating Style doesn't always age well I was at the opening party for this hotel a few years back, when Mundo was the restaurant in the lobby. It felt like a really welcome place in the neighborhood and a cool place to be. Since Mundo's departure, it feels dated and like the events have gone down hill. 6/07/2018

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/11/2018

Bailey

If anybody is trying to find good deals for hotels visit HotelBuIly. com booked a hotel on there and they had the best rates anywhere!

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it.
5/28/2019

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

Zoe W.

5 star rating Stayed here over the Christmas weekend. It was my second time staying here, with the first time being two years ago. Like last time, I had a lovely experience. The staff were all very nice, the room was clean and beautifully decorated (the whole hotel is beautifully decorated with an eclectic but warm aesthetic that I love). I also love the location because it's quieter and less busy than you would experience if you stayed in Manhattan, but is still very close to Manhattan. Plus, we found free street parking right next to the hotel immediately upon arrival, which is a huge convenience. I also love the products they use for the shower gel and shampoo/conditioner in the rooms, they smell wonderful.

My ONLY complaint, but it was more my fault, was that the hotel restaurant (which is now called Lily Valley instead of Mundo) is advertised as being open 5-11pm Tuesday through Saturday, but the kitchen closes at 10pm, which seems pretty early to me. We got there expecting to be able to have a late dinner at 10 (which I thought was plenty of time since it closed at 11) and were told, very apologetically, that the kitchen closed at 10. I would love it if they extended their hours or made it more clear that the kitchen closed at 10 on their website, especially since the hotel has no room service. We experienced the same thing in the morning, where we got to the restaurant for breakfast/brunch at 11am and were told they close at 11am. To me that's a little early on a Sunday to close, and again I would love if they extended their hours to close at 12pm. But other than that, it was a great hotel stay, and I look forward to staying there again.
12/30/2017

Tyler

Friendly staff made our stay amazing. The hotel is comfortable, unique and convenient to the metro and attractions nearby. You get much more than you pay for. I would recommend and stay again. 6/20/2019

Joannah Y.

5 star rating Too bad we only had time to sleep in the hotel as a lot of non-New Yonkers do but would have loved to spend time in the hotel itself.  The design was warm and  "feel at home" like and the rooms were very clean. I don't know what those other reviewers were smoking at that time.  I expected and dreaded those supposed paper thin walls' noses to kick in and there wasn't a peep and we were there when the place was fully booked. My only complaint is their 1 Ply tissue paper in the toilet.  Hate those.

Housekeeping took awhile, most likely from being fully booked.  Our room was done at around 3 o'clock. The 24 hour gym was clean and empty as heck all the time we were there.  Overall, loved the experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back again!
11/30/2016

Ging

Loved the Harry Potter, artsy vibes in the hotel lobby!! Instagram heaven complete with red phone booths! I attended an event in the downstairs area and had an amazing time. Highly recommended. 10/20/2018

Jim H.

4 star rating Really great atmosphere and decor. The bar has great quality brews and spirits. There's a shuffleboard and ping pong room as well as a nice patio. The rooms are nice, though, the harder bed with softer pillows was a bit uncomfortable. But the bathroom and shower both were very clean.

The location is great, it's right next to the MTA and a quick ride into Manhattan or to LGA.

The only real issue I had was the service at the cafe counter being slow at best and interrupted by a manager more concerned with a rag being in a bucket than the one customer who had already been waiting for a few minutes for a cup of coffee.

Otherwise, this will be my go to for my business travel into NYC for the foreseeable future.
9/27/2018

Celeste S.

5 star rating Our Wedding October 13, 2018

My husband and I were searching for a Hotel to dress and take pictures on our Wedding day in our Hometown of Long Island City.  He and I had gone to several hotels and looked no further when we walked into the Paper Factory Hotel. Gal, the owner gave us a tour of the hotel. We fell in love with the original decor and character of the Penthouse, Manhattan Loft and wonderful staff .  The staff is always pleasant and make you feel at home.  Marijana the hotel manager made arrangements for us to stay at a discounted rate to experience the hotel last summer and we absolutely enjoyed it.  Events, restaurant, common areas, views, rooms and atmosphere are always GREAT.

For our wedding we went from booking two rooms to booking five rooms in the hotel.  Each and every staff member, (they all are great for fear we'd leave someone out we didn't add names) always super helpful each and every time.  

When I got there the night before the wedding, a beautiful arrangement of roses on the bed like a fairy tale. I felt like a princess.   We had a great time with our families.  The penthouse was beautiful and large enough to accommodate our large bridal party on our special day.      

We took pictures in the rooms which were nothing short of amazing views of New York City and Long Island City.  We also took pictures in the common grounds both inside and outside the hotel.  We've only seen a handful of pictures and they are AWESOME.

We Recommend the Paper Factory for events, vacation, or just a weekend away from home.  It's convenient to the City three train stops and your in Manhattan.

Thank you for you helping making our Wedding Weekend Spectacular!

We can't wait to come back!  

Celeste and Claudio
11/09/2018

Nofar M

5 star rating Wow!! Wow !!! Really recommend! If you are in NY great place for friends,family and also couples

Thank you very much . They people there very kind . The service there very quiqly . Soon they need to open there also restaurant inside- can’t wait!
7/04/2018

sandie1947

4 star rating Super hotel, interesting decor. 4 of us stayed at The Paper Factory Hotel. A short walk from the subway (which we navigated from Manhattan ).

Great staff that was very accommodating with the delivery of extra pillows, towels and water.

One drawback is that the hotel is not near anything. It was a former paper factory and there is a collection of interesting items in the lobby and comfortable sitting room.

We did figure out the subway system, after a few heading-the-wrong-way incidents and took in the site of the 1964 World's Fair.
7/26/2018

bitchofliving

A funky, hipster hotel that was fairly enjoyable. My major criticism is the overall customer service. A truly slow and often times very forgetful front desk, no luggage carts at check-in (after a very long 10-hour drive), and an inconsistent bar that had no regular hours. One great positive was the proximity to public transport, with the subway literally across the street from the front door. 10/10/2018

Costa

This is not a hotel. It's a mind-blowing incredible retro-centric hospitality experience! Absolutely amazing decor, service, design, and food. The rooms are awesome. Beds are incredibly comfortable and everything about this hotel is something I recommend everyone experience and enjoy!! Subway station is located right across the street making it fast and easy to go anywhere in New York City. Love this place and can't wait to come back again! 2/15/2018

Renée

Beautiful decor, friendly service and very accommodating! I love the little coffee shop In the lobby. It was perfect for grabbing a cup of coffee on the way to find adventure. I You are near several train stops, just a very short walk to any of them. 11/19/2018

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

VovaNLondon

4 star rating Great hotel May be surrounding area is not best, but location is definitely perfect - only three stops from 5th avenue. The hotel itself is very clean, breakfast is good. Rooms are a bit small but it was ok for us. 6/19/2018

Ashley K.

4 star rating Staying at at hotel in my hometown of Astoria/LIC was definitely a strange feeling but Paper Factory Hotel made me want to do it every time I go back. Bae and I stayed there for our wedding night and the night after and we had a very good time! The staff was super accommodating, (bonus points for sending us up some prosecco, guys), our room was clean & cozy (not very big but what can you expect, it's NYC), and the little cafe by the lobby serves some GOOD espresso. We weren't too impressed with breakfast in the restaurant but the good thing about the hotel is that you're in walking distance of many great brunch places (SUPER shout out to Chela & Garnacha - Latina-owned!) that Queens has to offer.

Also, the lobby of the hotel is just super cute. It's definitely a place for creatives, there's a piano, pool table, and lots of other fun things to do! I do wish there had been a bar open down there though with some live music.

Looking forward to seeing what the Paper Factory can bring this part of LIC. I will gladly go back/host an even there in the future! Thank you for making our wedding weekend great! :)
6/05/2018

Vivian H.

4 star rating The hotel is in a great central location to commute to the city. I really enjoyed the rooms and setup..very hip and trendy. I was there for a wedding and the staff was very attentive. I had read in previous reviews about the elevators not working and experienced that upon my arrival but fortunately for us it was working when we were headed to the ceremony. Definitely plan on trying this place out again on my next visit. 10/01/2017

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 2/12/2019

Arunia

Great artistic hotel. Nice bar and restaurant. Great for families and young adults. Lots of things to do in a close distance. 11/10/2018

Mauricio V.

5 star rating This place is filled with chic decor and a really fun place to go to when they host special events. Mundo the restaurant in the hotel has great food and mixologist worthy drinks.

The whole shake, strain and stir with specials liquors and bitters....
10/18/2016

A TripAdvisor Member

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

dream

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it. 3/31/2019

Minx I.

4 star rating I attended the hotel's Junxion Halloween event in 2016.

The decor in the main lobby was eye catching, and made you want to wander through everything. I had the opportunity of being an artist that was painting live at the event,and I had a wonderful time. the energy and vibe of the guests were really inviting. Everyone was friendly and the staff was very informative.

At first, the layout of the hotel seems like a maze, but once you get a hang of it, you find yourself wandering enjoying your surroundings.

A lovey couple ended up falling in love with my painting and purchased it.

I had a great time.

The only thing I might complain about is the transportation. When they are many people leaving the hotel at the same time. catching your uber gets a little confusing. Which has nothing to do with the hotel, so my rating still remains positive. I will attend again.

2minxinx dot com
1/04/2017

Larry

Staying at the Paper Factory Hotel was a fabulous experience. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful, when we got stranded and had to book an additional night because of a snowstorm! Loved our stay and we would highly recommend this place. We would love to visit again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. 1/22/2019

Ankur

This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with an industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Kim H.

5 star rating This was my second stay at the Paper Factory Hotel, the first time for work and the most recent for mother/daughter weekend in NY. I LOVE the stylish/funky decor both in the lobby and the rooms. The rooms are actually pretty roomy (especially for NYC), with high ceilings and lots of windows. We stayed in the deluxe queen and if was perfect for the 4 of us -  1 queen, 1 king, a fold out couch, desk, refrigerator, and microwave.

The front desk staff and the manager were all great during our entire stay. My daughter had left a stuffed animal in her bed and the cleaning staff accidentally picked it up with the bedding to be laundered (it was white, just like the sheets). When we called the front desk and the manager immediately called the laundry company. They found the stuffed animal, but it had gone through the laundry and wasn't looking too good, so the PFH manager went to a toy store and bought a replacement and had it for my daughter when we got back that night - AMAZING service.

Although the hotel is not within walking distance of much, you can take a 5 min. Uber ride to some of the best Greek food in NY, or jump on the subway (across the street from the hotel front door) and be in Manhattan in 10-15 min.
3/30/2018

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/06/2018

Jeff

Surprisingly nice place. Room was well laid out and the hotel has great decor. Front desk was helpful and the price was good value. There was a small problem with the room and the front desk and facilities fixed everything quickly. Great experience overall. 12/05/2018

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
2/12/2019

Jen M.

4 star rating Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant, good food and drinks at the bar.  Parking is tough and no valet.  Subway is across the street.  The only negative I have to say is the very strong smell of men's cologne(which they pipe in to create atmosphere) entering and exiting the hotel. 5/28/2017

Sara P.

5 star rating The hallways are not that spacious but  great interior and super hip hotel gives you a London feel 3/12/2018

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

S. H.

5 star rating Held a corporate dinner here with all in attendance staying at this hotel. The rooms were really cool, the dinner was amazing and the service was great. I enjoyed working with Daniella for dinner and Yenny for the meeting rooms. We encountered some challenges because of a hurricane but they were both very easy to work with and helped us a great deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!!
9/11/2017

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Sheila M.

5 star rating I love this hotel! 5 stars because it's beautiful inside, quiet and peaceful. It can be a little dark inside but that's part of the character of the hotel. The rooms are comfy;the bed and there is a thermostat in each room ( so not sure why some reviews said it was too hot?). I have stayed twice and never been bothered by any noise. The bar and restaurant are delicious! 6/05/2018

Nathan S.

5 star rating Stayed here for a wedding. The staff is fantastic, incredibly accommodating and friendly. The subway was 1 block away, and the neighborhood is quiet (by NYC standards) I would stay here again next time i come to NY 8/07/2017

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
1/01/1970

Wally S.

5 star rating Very lovely hotel, my husband and I love it, stood there twice already!

Beautiful clean rooms, staff very friendly and helpful!

The restaurant ooooh so good, chef Eli creates the best dishes, had Tuna Carpaccio Daily, best ever also the crisp Arancini, but everything is so delicious!

On the minus side, last year we tried to stay 10days until after Halloween, but couldn't, they had a private Halloween Party, which was ok. However all the sofas, chairs and tables were removed from the lobby, with nowhere to sit, (we were told we could sit in the restaurant, which of course is not an option), the whole week leading up to the day before the party. This was extremely unprofessional from the management, it felt like the hotel guests were not welcome any longer!

Why I gave 5stars? We loved the staff, restaurant and rooms and very convenient to public transportation.

The last 3days where we had to switch hotels, because of the party we went to the Boro Hotel very close by, also a very lovely hotel, great staff and very accommodating! Definitely 5stars!
4/16/2018

Doctor

Very nice hotel in a great location. It’s close enough to Manhattan if you want to go to bars, but centered perfectly to avoid too much traffic. The hotel itself was very clean and housekeeping was on point. The staff was also friendly and helpful. You can even request a mini fridge and microwave free of charge. 11/11/2018

Shadya N.

5 star rating Came here for my anniversary and fell completely in love. From the moment you walk in to the minute you check out, this hotel blows your mind. So much art and adventure into such a small space. The lobby is lovely, not to mention the amazing wall of books. The rooms are cozy and much different than your average stay. I stayed on the fourth floor and it was amazing. Wood floors, wood desks and cabinets, wood everywhere! They also have an outdoor area along with a restaurant/bar that is also very nice. This is a hotel you stay and enjoy. I wish I got more of it honestly! The only downside is the paper thin walls. You could hear absolutely every door open and shut, every footstep in the hall and the beautiful sound of the city which of course is expected. I'd stay here every time I'm in the area for sure! 8/22/2016

David

Loved the decor. Very funky yet classy. They did an excellent job converting the warehouse. Room was impeccably clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The staff were friendly and we had no problem finding street parking. Would stay here again. Definitely! 5/26/2018

Mishka

The Paper Factory Hotel is a very nice place to stay. The decor was beautiful and unique and the staff was very pleasant. Although we were only there for a night, we will definitely be staying here again in the future. 7/29/2018

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
1/01/1970

eamagnusen

5 star rating Relaxing, Artsy and Clean OK, so my personal experience at this hotel was amazing. First and foremost, the staff geniunely made me feel comfortable with the Paper Factory Hotel. (Thank you Arturo for your help and outstanding service.)

Didn't jot down their names, and the two front desk agents who checked me in were both helpful and sincere.

Room 427 was great (corner king room) Retro styling along with mofern conveniences, tall ceilings and windows on two sides of the room (as well as in the entranceway.) AC worked efficiently and quietly. Wanted to take the bed home with me!

Linens were fine, as were the bathroom towels.

Bottom line is this hotel has a lot going for it....great staff, comfortable rooms and is a off the charts in the "bang for your buck" quotent.
6/19/2018

Luca P.

5 star rating Super friendly staff. Nicely decorated rooms, unique hotel, the drink at the bar were nice. Tried a Negroni and an old fashioned. The vibe is tranquil and easygoing 10/14/2018

J

Wonderfully designed, moderately priced- nearby the 37 street R/M train station. It's close to Kaufman Studios and many restaurants, bars, a movie theater and the Museum of the Moving Image. The hotel was built from an old factory and is just brilliantly designed down to the small details in the rooms. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, game room, fitness center, lounge areas, continental breakfast (for a fee), bottled water and more. Check in is at 3pm. Check out is at 11am. I suggest anyone that's looking for a nice place to stay while in the Queens area- with easy access into Manhattan by train- to stay here. The staff is lovely as well. I would definitely come back. 8/13/2018

randi n.

5 star rating I loved this place! Who knew such sophistication existed in industrial Queens! So nice we extended our stay and Stephanie was so cool and accommodated our needs at the front desk. Natalie was super cool as well! Rooms are unique and clean. Bath products better than most hotels, even though I usually bring my own. I'll be back! 7/03/2018

Molly L.

5 star rating I just accidentally posted this a tip, but I was here for a New Year's Eve party and this hotel is gorgeous! Beautiful bar, unique and classy interior. Definitely a fun place for a group of friends looking to stay in this area, saw a lot of family's and kids too. 1/02/2017

honest reviewer

5 star rating Compassionate stay... We were here for a funeral, so while most of our time here was a blur, we would like to comment on the constant kindness that was so graciously displayed toward us on every level. As we strolled in day after day, in black, rolling in extra bags, and forlorn faces, the staff here stuck with us, and afforded us human kindness above and beyond. This hotel is hipster cool, funky, clean, convenient, serves excellent food, and has the best staff ever. In memory of our beloved niece, we cannot thank you enough.. 7/27/2018

Brucr B.

5 star rating Hotel is in an industrial area so parking is difficult. But once that problem is solved, the hotel is well worth it. Very interesting decor. Rooms a bit tight but very clean. Staff was all very accommodating and professional. Did not partake of the breakfast in the hotel. Went across the street to a corner luncheonette and had a great breakfast sandwich.  Back to the hotel:

We were on 5th floor but not much to see out of the windows unless you like to see factory roofs.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only complaint was that the area starts working (hence a bit noisy) in the morning. If you are a late sleeper might be a problem. Otherwise this hotel is a great and interesting choice.
10/08/2016

Luci B.

5 star rating I came for Junxion's New Years Eve event and had an absolute blast. I am not someone who celebrates NYE, it's too expensive, too cold to dress up, the crowds are obnoxious. I prefer to spend it in someone's home, but this year I branched out and am so glad I did.

I will say, they event was absolutely overcrowded. Intimidatingly so. The line for coat check snaked around the ground floor of the hotel, and was so slow moving we elected to hold our coats the whole night which ended up being alright because a lot of the areas of the hotel were chilly, even with the crowds. Going up stairs, through entryways, even down hallways, was always a matter of being part of a slow moving, shuffling line. Come pre-gamed, you're going to need it to keep your cool.

Speaking of alcohol, the events main downfall was a lack of it, which is a little ridiculous given that's a large focus of the NYE event. Traveling through multiple floors, multiple dance areas, a restaurant, a party bus in a courtyard, multiple art installations- we managed to only find one bar and they were out of a lot of things. Standard domestic beer was $8. It was actually really comical, we spent a considerable amount of time "hunting" for booze, asking people who worked there, flagging down people holding drinks who would give us such answers as "I don't know, someone else got this for me" or "Go back the way you came, up a flight of stairs, make a right, then a left, go through the dance floor, make another left, and there should be a bar there"- only to arrive and be given another set of directions to the mythical bar. The entire place was a pulsing, well decorated labyrinthine that made finding booze a game. If I hadn't been in such a good mood, this would have been a MAJOR issue. Bathrooms were more plentiful, but not by much, and often required similarly convoluted directions.

Possibly more problematic was the lack of water or other non-alcoholic liquids. It was equally as impossible to find these, and this is actually dangerous when you have a party that runs from 9pm-6am and has people dancing in some areas that can become quite hot, and for those who were drunk I can't even imagine how they felt. We ended up getting lost and finding a back hallway for workers where cases of ginger ale happened to be. We ended up stocking up on a bunch and taking them out to people in desperate need. People for the most part were in good spirits, but this is an easily avoidable situation.

This was my first Junxion event and it was absolutely the people who were involved who made this such a great time. The vibe was beyond friendly and inclusive, there was no drama or sour faces even with such shortcomings of the event itself. There were so many different kinds of music that everyone had a space they felt comfortable in. And attendees went all out with their costumes- I definitely saw more glitter and wings and body paint than little black dresses.

I would absolutely come back next year, but do hope the organizers do things differently, and will come prepared in case they don't.
1/05/2017

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

ricardosou

5 star rating Highly recommended Nice, cosy and comfortable option to stay in NY. Just 2 subway stops from Manhattan, very quiet, extremely clean, good bedding and towels. Spacious room with closet, safe, chest of drawers, table, TV with plenty of free on demand chanels and very good internet connection. Coffee machine, free bottle of water. Spacious bathroom with free toiletries. Charming decoration in industrial style, leather sofas, plenty of cool lighting fixtures. Courteous people at front desk. And last, but not least, affordable prices. Highly reccomended. 6/18/2018

wanderlustMBA

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Jon

Not a great location but easy access to subway. Well decorated and comfortable rooms. Very cool common areas when you enter and nice, helpful staff 9/04/2018

Limor C.

5 star rating What a gorgeous place, me and my fiancé dined at the Mundo New York, the Restutante down by the lobby. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is elegant. I really enjoyed spending my thank giving day here. Staff is courteous and pleasant

Highly recommend!!
11/24/2016

Adam

My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 7/24/2018

Yonatan K.

5 star rating Very cool hotel everything here is very rustic I love displace the rooms comfortable and The price is ridiculous very cheap, comfortable to get to the city from here 11/20/2016

Nathan

Great location and funky decor. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, though not very decorated. Subway (M/R) is right outside the front door and just 2 stops from Manhattan. You're also just a couple blocks from lots of shops, restaurants, and museums. Overall, great spot. 12/07/2018

Rohan M

5 star rating A whole new world at the Paper Factory Hotel! Some friends and I finally took a trip to New York City and decided the Paper Factory Hotel would be our home base for the week. After a pleasantly short drive from Laguardia airport, we checked in and figured we would get a lay of the land before embarking on our escapades. With a great mix of urban and retro styles throughout the building, there was always something inventively unique looking back at you. We found ourselves meeting in the lobby most days to plan out our days while the staff gave us some advise on how to best navigate the city and make the absolute most of every day. Between the quick trip to Manhattan and genuine vibes all around, The Paper Factory made our trip to New York more than memorable! More 5/31/2018

Craig M.

5 star rating I hesitate to rate the Paper Factory because I would like to keep it for myself.  Lobby and the rest of the main floor is modern, cool, unique and very welcoming. The vibe was very relaxed but the staff including Arturo, Daniella, and Theo in the bar were very friendly, helpful, and genuine.  My room was spacious, clean, and light filled and the bed was comfortable. Blackout shades provided perfect sleep environment.  Bar was well designed and offered a relaxed atmosphere.  I stayed in Queens but Manhattan is very close either by car or subway.  This place is a true gem and a nice change from the boring, generic hotel experience.  My only caveat is that like most of New York parking can be a challenge if you happen to have a car during your stay.  Other than that I look forward to staying at the Factory when I'm in town again. 10/14/2018

Chad

Generally great experience at the paper factory. The room was great. Breakfast was good. The subway station is right out front, and the city is only a stop or two away. 3/23/2019

Eric W.

5 star rating I travel for business often and have stayed at well over 80 hotels in the last 2 years alone. I've had amazing experiences at hotels and I've also had horrible experiences. My stay here was amazing!! - we got a free upgrade to the Manhattan Suite. The hotel has so much character both in the rooms and also downstairs - Joana at the front desk made we feel welcome from the moment I stepped into this hotel. She offered me a comprehensive list of recommended restaurants in the area and answered all my questions courteously and professionally. This place is amazing - worth every penny and then some. Check it out!!!! 10/27/2018