Zoe W.

5 star rating Stayed here over the Christmas weekend. It was my second time staying here, with the first time being two years ago. Like last time, I had a lovely experience. The staff were all very nice, the room was clean and beautifully decorated (the whole hotel is beautifully decorated with an eclectic but warm aesthetic that I love). I also love the location because it's quieter and less busy than you would experience if you stayed in Manhattan, but is still very close to Manhattan. Plus, we found free street parking right next to the hotel immediately upon arrival, which is a huge convenience. I also love the products they use for the shower gel and shampoo/conditioner in the rooms, they smell wonderful.

My ONLY complaint, but it was more my fault, was that the hotel restaurant (which is now called Lily Valley instead of Mundo) is advertised as being open 5-11pm Tuesday through Saturday, but the kitchen closes at 10pm, which seems pretty early to me. We got there expecting to be able to have a late dinner at 10 (which I thought was plenty of time since it closed at 11) and were told, very apologetically, that the kitchen closed at 10. I would love it if they extended their hours or made it more clear that the kitchen closed at 10 on their website, especially since the hotel has no room service. We experienced the same thing in the morning, where we got to the restaurant for breakfast/brunch at 11am and were told they close at 11am. To me that's a little early on a Sunday to close, and again I would love if they extended their hours to close at 12pm. But other than that, it was a great hotel stay, and I look forward to staying there again.
12/30/2017

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
1/01/1970

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Kendra at the front desk is amazing We stayed a 4 day weekend with multiple guests and Kendra really went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She helped us with several questions throughout the night! She went above and beyond. 3/22/2019

Adam

My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 7/24/2018

Joanne K.

4 star rating I'd definitely go back here if i ever needed a room in queens again! The space is so cute. And also everything was clean. Also the brand for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner etc is good too. And i generally don't use the ones the hotels give. My only complaint would be there's no parking, and only one elevator!! 5/28/2017

FlyBoy32725

5 star rating What a great hotel! This was the perfect girl’s trip getaway! The hotel is acroos the street from a subway station with easy access to Manhattan. The decor is very unique and fun to explore! Very friendly staff. Highly recommend! 9/05/2018

Kim H.

5 star rating This was my second stay at the Paper Factory Hotel, the first time for work and the most recent for mother/daughter weekend in NY. I LOVE the stylish/funky decor both in the lobby and the rooms. The rooms are actually pretty roomy (especially for NYC), with high ceilings and lots of windows. We stayed in the deluxe queen and if was perfect for the 4 of us -  1 queen, 1 king, a fold out couch, desk, refrigerator, and microwave.

The front desk staff and the manager were all great during our entire stay. My daughter had left a stuffed animal in her bed and the cleaning staff accidentally picked it up with the bedding to be laundered (it was white, just like the sheets). When we called the front desk and the manager immediately called the laundry company. They found the stuffed animal, but it had gone through the laundry and wasn't looking too good, so the PFH manager went to a toy store and bought a replacement and had it for my daughter when we got back that night - AMAZING service.

Although the hotel is not within walking distance of much, you can take a 5 min. Uber ride to some of the best Greek food in NY, or jump on the subway (across the street from the hotel front door) and be in Manhattan in 10-15 min.
3/30/2018

Sheila M.

5 star rating I love this hotel! 5 stars because it's beautiful inside, quiet and peaceful. It can be a little dark inside but that's part of the character of the hotel. The rooms are comfy;the bed and there is a thermostat in each room ( so not sure why some reviews said it was too hot?). I have stayed twice and never been bothered by any noise. The bar and restaurant are delicious! 6/05/2018

Nofar M

5 star rating Wow!! Wow !!! Really recommend! If you are in NY great place for friends,family and also couples

Thank you very much . They people there very kind . The service there very quiqly . Soon they need to open there also restaurant inside- can’t wait!
7/04/2018

Adam M.

5 star rating My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 2/13/2018

Mauricio V.

5 star rating This place is filled with chic decor and a really fun place to go to when they host special events. Mundo the restaurant in the hotel has great food and mixologist worthy drinks.

The whole shake, strain and stir with specials liquors and bitters....
10/18/2016

Zachary M

5 star rating Visited during Graduation There were 5 of us at the hotel. We stayed on recommendations from family. The hotel was under construction when we were there, however we weren’t there for the hotel restaurant. The rooms were more than enough space, very clean and well maintained. The hotel has a great feel and you feel very safe in the area! There are 2 subways stations very close that zip right into the action! The staff was attentive, very pleasant and knowledgeable! Even tho the restaurant was closed the breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day! When visiting New York again we would absolutely chose the Paper Factory! 7/16/2019

Celeste S.

5 star rating Our Wedding October 13, 2018

My husband and I were searching for a Hotel to dress and take pictures on our Wedding day in our Hometown of Long Island City.  He and I had gone to several hotels and looked no further when we walked into the Paper Factory Hotel. Gal, the owner gave us a tour of the hotel. We fell in love with the original decor and character of the Penthouse, Manhattan Loft and wonderful staff .  The staff is always pleasant and make you feel at home.  Marijana the hotel manager made arrangements for us to stay at a discounted rate to experience the hotel last summer and we absolutely enjoyed it.  Events, restaurant, common areas, views, rooms and atmosphere are always GREAT.

For our wedding we went from booking two rooms to booking five rooms in the hotel.  Each and every staff member, (they all are great for fear we'd leave someone out we didn't add names) always super helpful each and every time.  

When I got there the night before the wedding, a beautiful arrangement of roses on the bed like a fairy tale. I felt like a princess.   We had a great time with our families.  The penthouse was beautiful and large enough to accommodate our large bridal party on our special day.      

We took pictures in the rooms which were nothing short of amazing views of New York City and Long Island City.  We also took pictures in the common grounds both inside and outside the hotel.  We've only seen a handful of pictures and they are AWESOME.

We Recommend the Paper Factory for events, vacation, or just a weekend away from home.  It's convenient to the City three train stops and your in Manhattan.

Thank you for you helping making our Wedding Weekend Spectacular!

We can't wait to come back!  

Celeste and Claudio
11/09/2018

Stephanie L.

5 star rating I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for our anniversary on 12/6/16. I was a little worried because of some of the previous reviews I had read on here but I had a great experience. I booked for the queen room and when we arrived they told me they upgraded our room to the Penthouse free of charge because we were celebrating. It was an awesome gesture that I didn't expect at all. The staff member upfront (I forgot her name, sorry!) was incredibly sweet and helpful. Parking seems like it would be an issue but we found a spot right in front of the hotel. This place was awesome and spotless looks just like the photos on their website. The only thing I have to say is the Penthouse suite was freezing cold, we turned on both heaters and it was cold the entire night until the morning. Other than that, this place was great. Even little breakfast spot was awesome. Thank you again for the upgrade! Will definitely stay again. 12/16/2016

Nathan

Great location and funky decor. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, though not very decorated. Subway (M/R) is right outside the front door and just 2 stops from Manhattan. You're also just a couple blocks from lots of shops, restaurants, and museums. Overall, great spot. 12/07/2018

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 2/12/2019

Joannah Y.

5 star rating Too bad we only had time to sleep in the hotel as a lot of non-New Yonkers do but would have loved to spend time in the hotel itself.  The design was warm and  "feel at home" like and the rooms were very clean. I don't know what those other reviewers were smoking at that time.  I expected and dreaded those supposed paper thin walls' noses to kick in and there wasn't a peep and we were there when the place was fully booked. My only complaint is their 1 Ply tissue paper in the toilet.  Hate those.

Housekeeping took awhile, most likely from being fully booked.  Our room was done at around 3 o'clock. The 24 hour gym was clean and empty as heck all the time we were there.  Overall, loved the experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back again!
11/30/2016

Jeffrey L

5 star rating Five minutes from Manhattan at half the price! OK -- so you want to pay $300-$400/night for a cramped hotel room and a view of a window across the alley, just to be in Manhattan? Why? Paper Factory Hotel in Astoria, Queens has a subway stop that puts you in Manhattan in five minutes! We've stayed here four times in past four or five years during our visits, and truly enjoyed it! The rooms are large, by NYC standards for sure....also clean and well-appointed. Bed and bedding is comfortable, and bathroom is spotless. Here's a plus! If you're there in the hotter parts of summer, the A/C in the rooms really works well! And, since this renovated building was historically a paper factory over 100 years ago, you can see the history in the walls, ceilings, windows, and floors throughout -- very cool! The hotel offered a free continental breakfast daily during our stay in May 2019, as their restaurant and bar were under renovation...not sure if they'll keep that up, but regardless...we'll always be happy to stay here! Priced right and in the right place! 8/10/2019

KJ K.

4 star rating Been here twice. Willing to return because of few reasons: I love how they're so close to the metro station, their interiors, and friendly staffs.

First time the staff had upgraded our room to a Manhattan loft. It was during winter time, and the room would never get warmer... but I still enjoyed the experience because the staffs tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Second time we stayed at the first floor standard kitchenette room, thinking that first floor would not be an issue. Well, we didn't have much problems, but the bathroom smelled....like a sewer.... not to an extreme like 'oh my can't stay here' but every time I stepped into the bathroom I realized I did not want to breathe as much as I could. And the bed would make squeaky noise every time I moved.

But despite of all of these, I am willing to come back, try them at least one more time. Love how it's a little distant from Manhattan but still close to the metro station, and it was easier to find a cheaper parking lot near LIC.
7/14/2017

Julia

Such a cool hotel. Very modern industrial in style and design. Clean rooms, good coffee,nice amenities all around. Would recommend to my extremely picky grandmother which is saying A LOT. 8/27/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

Doctor

Very nice hotel in a great location. It’s close enough to Manhattan if you want to go to bars, but centered perfectly to avoid too much traffic. The hotel itself was very clean and housekeeping was on point. The staff was also friendly and helpful. You can even request a mini fridge and microwave free of charge. 11/11/2018

wanderlustMBA

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Tyler

Friendly staff made our stay amazing. The hotel is comfortable, unique and convenient to the metro and attractions nearby. You get much more than you pay for. I would recommend and stay again. 6/20/2019

Mili

Great hospitality for a group of 34 people. The staff was friendly and welcoming, they would do anything to accommodate our requests. We were in general very happy with the service offered. The location also is convenient. 8/31/2018

Brucr B.

5 star rating Hotel is in an industrial area so parking is difficult. But once that problem is solved, the hotel is well worth it. Very interesting decor. Rooms a bit tight but very clean. Staff was all very accommodating and professional. Did not partake of the breakfast in the hotel. Went across the street to a corner luncheonette and had a great breakfast sandwich.  Back to the hotel:

We were on 5th floor but not much to see out of the windows unless you like to see factory roofs.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only complaint was that the area starts working (hence a bit noisy) in the morning. If you are a late sleeper might be a problem. Otherwise this hotel is a great and interesting choice.
10/08/2016

Shadya N.

5 star rating Came here for my anniversary and fell completely in love. From the moment you walk in to the minute you check out, this hotel blows your mind. So much art and adventure into such a small space. The lobby is lovely, not to mention the amazing wall of books. The rooms are cozy and much different than your average stay. I stayed on the fourth floor and it was amazing. Wood floors, wood desks and cabinets, wood everywhere! They also have an outdoor area along with a restaurant/bar that is also very nice. This is a hotel you stay and enjoy. I wish I got more of it honestly! The only downside is the paper thin walls. You could hear absolutely every door open and shut, every footstep in the hall and the beautiful sound of the city which of course is expected. I'd stay here every time I'm in the area for sure! 8/22/2016

Luis

This hotel is so greatly decorated it looks like a museum from the past. They have taken tin drums and turn them into chairs for the lobby. In the restaurant, they have a column made out of books making it extremely unique. The rooms are spacious and also nicely decorated. The entire building has the original wood floors which have been treated to have a nice shine. The bed is comfy. The staff could not be any more friendlier and welcoming. 3/05/2018

sandie1947

4 star rating Super hotel, interesting decor. 4 of us stayed at The Paper Factory Hotel. A short walk from the subway (which we navigated from Manhattan ).

Great staff that was very accommodating with the delivery of extra pillows, towels and water.

One drawback is that the hotel is not near anything. It was a former paper factory and there is a collection of interesting items in the lobby and comfortable sitting room.

We did figure out the subway system, after a few heading-the-wrong-way incidents and took in the site of the 1964 World's Fair.
7/26/2018

Limor C.

5 star rating What a gorgeous place, me and my fiancé dined at the Mundo New York, the Restutante down by the lobby. The food is incredible and the atmosphere is elegant. I really enjoyed spending my thank giving day here. Staff is courteous and pleasant

Highly recommend!!
11/24/2016

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. 1/01/1970

Jeff

Surprisingly nice place. Room was well laid out and the hotel has great decor. Front desk was helpful and the price was good value. There was a small problem with the room and the front desk and facilities fixed erverything quickly. Great experience overall 12/01/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Renée

Beautiful decor, friendly service and very accommodating! I love the little coffee shop In the lobby. It was perfect for grabbing a cup of coffee on the way to find adventure. I You are near several train stops, just a very short walk to any of them. 11/19/2018

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Lisa N.

5 star rating I have just arrived home from our daughter's college graduation party and there is not enough I can say about Daniella and her staff.  The night surpassed our expectations.  

The food. The atmosphere. The service.    All excellent.  

Thank you for making our night so special.  After Daniella who was there every step of the way. And there when we left. I have to give a shout out to Scott. Our bartender.   Thank you for all the excellent attention.   You made our night great

Thank you. Thank you and thank you again .
6/10/2017

Tash H.

5 star rating Great hotel! It's definitely more spacious than any hotel in Manhattan for this price range. Will return. 9/23/2018

Molly L.

5 star rating I just accidentally posted this a tip, but I was here for a New Year's Eve party and this hotel is gorgeous! Beautiful bar, unique and classy interior. Definitely a fun place for a group of friends looking to stay in this area, saw a lot of family's and kids too. 1/02/2017

Charles B.

4 star rating I'm not sure why El Mundo doesn't have its own Yelp page, but my review is written solely based upon my wonderful experience going to the restaurant for drinks and apps.

We had the ceviche and an order of delicious empanadas. Both were excellent. Presentation and taste of the ceviche were great and the empanadas were bursting with flavor.

My girlfriend was drinking the Malbec and I tried a Brazilian beer that came in a very large bottle and was quite delicious.

The decor is quite nice and makes you feel as though you're not surrounded by bland industrial-style buildings and warehouses that have been converted into residences.

The service was exceptional - polite, attentive, accommodating, professional.

Highly recommend this place and I look forward to returning for a full meal.
7/30/2016

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/06/2018

Douglas

Excellent accommodations, excellent location. Check-in was quick and staff very friendly and helpful, made great suggestion for nearby restaurant. Room is quite large compared to other places I have stayed in NYC. I like that the shower is in a separate room from the sink and toilet-- allows people to get themselves ready more efficiently. Nice neighborhood. Rooms and hallways are thoughtfully decorated, although the building itself is beautiful. It appears that they are building out a new front lobby, but this did not interfere with my stay, nor was there any noise from the construction. My room was very clean and in excellent repair. Subway station across the street. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! 5/04/2019

Minx I.

4 star rating I attended the hotel's Junxion Halloween event in 2016.

The decor in the main lobby was eye catching, and made you want to wander through everything. I had the opportunity of being an artist that was painting live at the event,and I had a wonderful time. the energy and vibe of the guests were really inviting. Everyone was friendly and the staff was very informative.

At first, the layout of the hotel seems like a maze, but once you get a hang of it, you find yourself wandering enjoying your surroundings.

A lovey couple ended up falling in love with my painting and purchased it.

I had a great time.

The only thing I might complain about is the transportation. When they are many people leaving the hotel at the same time. catching your uber gets a little confusing. Which has nothing to do with the hotel, so my rating still remains positive. I will attend again.

2minxinx dot com
1/04/2017

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

AnaB176

4 star rating Will Be Great Once Renovations Are Complete This hotel had great reviews up until they started renovations. The hotel really does not have a ton to offer in comparison to what is advertised on the website. I feel like once the renovations are complete and the restaurant and bar are back up in running this hotel will have so much more. It was very clean and we loved the updated bathroom with high end fixtures. The room was very small in comparison to what is advertised. The mattress was on a platform that was bigger than it which was strange. The staff were very pleasant and directed us to some restaurants in walking distance. The renovations appeared to include an nice outdoor patio space which will be awesome once complete. Overall the hotel was very basic. Would not go back until the renovations are complete. 7/16/2019

honest reviewer

5 star rating Compassionate stay... We were here for a funeral, so while most of our time here was a blur, we would like to comment on the constant kindness that was so graciously displayed toward us on every level. As we strolled in day after day, in black, rolling in extra bags, and forlorn faces, the staff here stuck with us, and afforded us human kindness above and beyond. This hotel is hipster cool, funky, clean, convenient, serves excellent food, and has the best staff ever. In memory of our beloved niece, we cannot thank you enough.. 7/27/2018

Ankur

This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with an industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

B_Mike_Shaw

4 star rating Simple but Functional The hotel is quaint and reasonably priced. The room that I was in was not large, but functional. It is also quite convenient - despite being located outside of Manhattan, it is located close to a subway station and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to downtown Manhattan. 9/01/2018

Nick

Very different from the usual chain experience. Great staff and nice rooms with a fantastic aesthetic all around. Location was perfect for our purposes, being near to several notable venues. All told, a great hotel we will definitely be considering again in the future. 11/11/2018

Jonathan

Hip and trendy! Super rad place and not too pricey either! Needed a place to crash since my flight got delayed and I saw Paper Factory Hotel was running a deal so I gave it a shot and I’m so glad I did! Love this place, highly recommend! 7/22/2019

Luca P.

5 star rating Super friendly staff. Nicely decorated rooms, unique hotel, the drink at the bar were nice. Tried a Negroni and an old fashioned. The vibe is tranquil and easygoing 10/14/2018

cariburbs

4 star rating Unique and trendy choice We stayed here for one night in August. The hotel is trendy, unique and simply fantastic. The hotel had hardwood floors throughout, high ceilings and was very clean. The restaurant is being renovated, so there wasn't dining on site. Walking distance to other eateries. This block the hotel is on is fairly quiet, but walking distance to other neighborhoods. 8/11/2019

Ultraportdrive

4 star rating Trendy hotel in Queens Stayed a few nights at this fairly new hotel. Nice feature are the high ceilings in the rooms, which give you the impression of space. Actually the rooms are spacious if I compare it with the manhattan hotel we had the second part of the week. Also the neighbor hood was quite at night, for good nights sleep. The shower did not have much water pressure, but was okay.

The lobby and restaurant were being refurbished, but did not matter as we went outside for breakfast and dinner.

Good hotel for visiting NY as the metro almost stops on the doorstep.
8/16/2019

William v

4 star rating Very nice hotel with a good vibe Dear William,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments as it is truly our pleasure to see your 10 days stay was memorable one.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, concierge team tips and the historic building that we are lucky enough to reside in.

Please know that we will be sharing your comments with our team and once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We all hope to see you very soon for another NYC adventure!
6/27/2018

bobmR839FX

5 star rating Awesome and honest staff Went into hotel looking to book group for next October, 2020. Met with Jon and he is a true gentleman and honest guy. Gave great tips, pointers, recommendations and wasn't only pushing his hotel. Booked room for friends coming into town to next week and know it will be perfect. Thanks Shane for your attention and service. 8/22/2019

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

Kyle

Spacious room. Clean. Food is great for complementary. Also bar bites at the in hotel bar were high quality. Staff very accommodating. 5 stars 11/11/2018

nycglutenfree

4 star rating Style doesn't always age well I was at the opening party for this hotel a few years back, when Mundo was the restaurant in the lobby. It felt like a really welcome place in the neighborhood and a cool place to be. Since Mundo's departure, it feels dated and like the events have gone down hill. 6/07/2018

Faye M.

4 star rating The hotel is beautiful and has lots of charm and would stay again if I came back to New York the breakfast is great and great price and the area is so so but overall I liked it 9/02/2018

Jim H.

4 star rating Really great atmosphere and decor. The bar has great quality brews and spirits. There's a shuffleboard and ping pong room as well as a nice patio. The rooms are nice, though, the harder bed with softer pillows was a bit uncomfortable. But the bathroom and shower both were very clean.

The location is great, it's right next to the MTA and a quick ride into Manhattan or to LGA.

The only real issue I had was the service at the cafe counter being slow at best and interrupted by a manager more concerned with a rag being in a bucket than the one customer who had already been waiting for a few minutes for a cup of coffee.

Otherwise, this will be my go to for my business travel into NYC for the foreseeable future.
9/27/2018

Sara P.

5 star rating The hallways are not that spacious but  great interior and super hip hotel gives you a London feel 3/12/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Customer service Kendra was absolutely amazing ! Best customer service and really took care of us. Room is fantastic, spacious and beautiful. I recommend coming here, so cute and very antique chic! You won’t regret it. 3/31/2019

zefer7

4 star rating Art and Hospitality My daughter has been staying in The Paper Factory Hotel, once a year at Christmas-New Year time. This is her 3rd or 4th time visiting with her two babies. She is very happy with the room and restaurants nearby. She gets take-out food and eats in the Hotel. The rooms are artful and some have a view of Manhattan. Great place for short weekender, couples or families. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! Good prices, too. Also, good subway connections. 1/06/2019

Tonicia

The hotel is a gem. I stay here often and the rooms are constantly clean, the service is constantly kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful, unique and the only place I stay when I come to New York! 11/11/2018

Darya

The most amazing place I've ever stayed in.

It's brilliantly decorated in different styles - vintage, modern, loft and, all in all - it's absolutely beautiful combination, a sort of fusion of a perfect kind.

It's just 3 stops away on subway from the centre of Manhattan.

I highly recommend it to everyone because of the friendly costs and comfortable staying.
2/15/2019

Puffy459

4 star rating Cool place to stay! I am a Queens resident and had out-of-town guests stay at this hotel, which is close to my home. It's absolutely the coolest joint in Queens. The lobby area, including rooms to play games and socialize, is clean and nicely furnished. There is a great coffee bar in the lobby, and the hotel has a great breakfast.

The rooms are typical NYC (studio-style and minimalist chic). The bed was comfortable and shower was great. We had a nightcap in the hotel bar,and the bartenders were excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel.
1/01/1970

Matthew R.

4 star rating Mid sized Boutique Hotel at the intersection of Astoria and Long Island City. Booked it through booking.com and got a really good deal for two nights. Rooms were clean and pretty big for a small hotel. Rest of hotel was well organized, Front desk was efficient. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel (separate review), and the downstairs space is often used for large parties.  HVAC system in room kept place comfortable.

One minor quibble is they have to fix the elevator. it has that annoying "hey, I'm not exactly at the floor level, so let me bounce the people in the car a few times to find it" thing going for it.
3/03/2017

Noelle B.

5 star rating Wonderful hotel! I booked this through HotelTonight for a special occasion and called prior to check-in to request a nice room if possible. Mariana was the one who took my call and she totally came through!! We were set up in a lovely suite and we were even able to check in early. The room was HUGE (NYC studio apt huge) and had a great view so we got to see the sunset over the city. The decor all over the hotel was very interesting and as other people have mentioned, the gym was pretty nice and spacious (compared to other hotel gyms). We unfortunately didn't get to check out the restaurant and bar downstairs but both seemed pretty lively. I had such an amazing time here from beginning to end and I won't hesitate to come back!! They really made my surprise gift that much more special. 6/15/2017

Costa

This is not a hotel. It's a mind-blowing incredible retro-centric hospitality experience! Absolutely amazing decor, service, design, and food. The rooms are awesome. Beds are incredibly comfortable and everything about this hotel is something I recommend everyone experience and enjoy!! Subway station is located right across the street making it fast and easy to go anywhere in New York City. Love this place and can't wait to come back again! 2/15/2018

Tiya B.

4 star rating Great customer service. Our room was upgraded upon arrival. The decor and ambiance is a photographer's dream. I called to have a note in the room and my husband was surprised with a nice hand written birthday card and a box of chocolates. The negatives are the room had a funny smell almost mildewy and there is construction next door( which was beyond their control) by 7am it was very noisy. I will stay here again after the construction is completed. 8/26/2016

Toya

Beautiful hotel with great, friendly staff. Loved the outdoor bar area and food truck. Very eclectic decor...just my style. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will DEFINITELY be going back!!! Great for a getaway with a loved one or alone!!! Can't say enough good things about this place👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 8/07/2019

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/11/2018

dream

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it. 3/31/2019

VovaNLondon

4 star rating Great hotel May be surrounding area is not best, but location is definitely perfect - only three stops from 5th avenue. The hotel itself is very clean, breakfast is good. Rooms are a bit small but it was ok for us. 6/19/2018

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
2/12/2019

Larry

Staying at the Paper Factory Hotel was a fabulous experience. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful, when we got stranded and had to book an additional night because of a snowstorm! Loved our stay and we would highly recommend this place. We would love to visit again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. 1/22/2019

Chad

Generally great experience at the paper factory. The room was great. Breakfast was good. The subway station is right out front, and the city is only a stop or two away. 3/23/2019

Katherine S

5 star rating Kendra at the front desk is amazing We stayed a 4 day weekend with multiple guests and Kendra really went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She helped us with several questions throughout the night! She went above and beyond. 3/22/2019

S. H.

5 star rating Held a corporate dinner here with all in attendance staying at this hotel. The rooms were really cool, the dinner was amazing and the service was great. I enjoyed working with Daniella for dinner and Yenny for the meeting rooms. We encountered some challenges because of a hurricane but they were both very easy to work with and helped us a great deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!!
9/11/2017

Wally S.

5 star rating Very lovely hotel, my husband and I love it, stood there twice already!

Beautiful clean rooms, staff very friendly and helpful!

The restaurant ooooh so good, chef Eli creates the best dishes, had Tuna Carpaccio Daily, best ever also the crisp Arancini, but everything is so delicious!

On the minus side, last year we tried to stay 10days until after Halloween, but couldn't, they had a private Halloween Party, which was ok. However all the sofas, chairs and tables were removed from the lobby, with nowhere to sit, (we were told we could sit in the restaurant, which of course is not an option), the whole week leading up to the day before the party. This was extremely unprofessional from the management, it felt like the hotel guests were not welcome any longer!

Why I gave 5stars? We loved the staff, restaurant and rooms and very convenient to public transportation.

The last 3days where we had to switch hotels, because of the party we went to the Boro Hotel very close by, also a very lovely hotel, great staff and very accommodating! Definitely 5stars!
4/16/2018