Holls D.

4 star rating The staff was super friendly and helpful.  The room was clean and spacious.  Would definitely recommend this hotel. 8/06/2017

Molly L.

5 star rating I just accidentally posted this a tip, but I was here for a New Year's Eve party and this hotel is gorgeous! Beautiful bar, unique and classy interior. Definitely a fun place for a group of friends looking to stay in this area, saw a lot of family's and kids too. 1/02/2017

Ging

Loved the Harry Potter, artsy vibes in the hotel lobby!! Instagram heaven complete with red phone booths! I attended an event in the downstairs area and had an amazing time. Highly recommended. 10/20/2018

ross51681

4 star rating Funky hotel, great value My wife and I stayed here for one night New Year’s weekend. We arrived early and to our surprise our room was ready. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We really liked the furnishings in our King room. Very original hotel! It’s also very close to the subway for easy access to Manhattan. 1/14/2019

S. H.

5 star rating Held a corporate dinner here with all in attendance staying at this hotel. The rooms were really cool, the dinner was amazing and the service was great. I enjoyed working with Daniella for dinner and Yenny for the meeting rooms. We encountered some challenges because of a hurricane but they were both very easy to work with and helped us a great deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!!
9/11/2017

Ashley K.

4 star rating Staying at at hotel in my hometown of Astoria/LIC was definitely a strange feeling but Paper Factory Hotel made me want to do it every time I go back. Bae and I stayed there for our wedding night and the night after and we had a very good time! The staff was super accommodating, (bonus points for sending us up some prosecco, guys), our room was clean & cozy (not very big but what can you expect, it's NYC), and the little cafe by the lobby serves some GOOD espresso. We weren't too impressed with breakfast in the restaurant but the good thing about the hotel is that you're in walking distance of many great brunch places (SUPER shout out to Chela & Garnacha - Latina-owned!) that Queens has to offer.

Also, the lobby of the hotel is just super cute. It's definitely a place for creatives, there's a piano, pool table, and lots of other fun things to do! I do wish there had been a bar open down there though with some live music.

Looking forward to seeing what the Paper Factory can bring this part of LIC. I will gladly go back/host an even there in the future! Thank you for making our wedding weekend great! :)
6/05/2018

Luca P.

5 star rating Super friendly staff. Nicely decorated rooms, unique hotel, the drink at the bar were nice. Tried a Negroni and an old fashioned. The vibe is tranquil and easygoing 10/14/2018

Shaurica C.

5 star rating Oh, The Paper Factory! What a darling hotel.

Stayed here while in New York on business at the recommendation of a NY resident & native, and was not disappointed! I loved everything about this place!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating every day of my stay, and even gave me this cute complimentary bathrobe and slipper set! I stayed in one of the lofts, and the view was absolutely amazing. So were the amenities.

There's also a lot to do in the area (although not particularly walking distance), and the hotel staff will be more than happy to point you in the right direction. There are 2 or 3 subway stations in a 5 minute walk or less. You also have to stop by the bar downstairs and chat with the lovely Rachel! She is so extremely fun & pleasant, and I really enjoyed meeting her. If fate were to ever bring me back this way, I would definitely love to stay here again!
3/12/2019

Eric H.

5 star rating The first time I visited Paper Factory was for a wedding before Mundo had reopened. It was a great time. I remember thinking to myself as I left - I really hope to come back for more memorable nights. Luckily, JunXion NYC has since teamed up with the hotel to host some truly incredible evenings. Halloween and NYE were nights I'll remember for a long time to come. From the eclectic music, to the unique performances and incredible decor - Paper Factory Hotel and JunXion are a dream team. As an Astoria resident, it's wonderful to have such an awesome place in our neighborhood. 1/02/2017

Luis

This hotel is so greatly decorated it looks like a museum from the past. They have taken tin drums and turn them into chairs for the lobby. In the restaurant, they have a column made out of books making it extremely unique. The rooms are spacious and also nicely decorated. The entire building has the original wood floors which have been treated to have a nice shine. The bed is comfy. The staff could not be any more friendlier and welcoming. 3/05/2018

Joanne K.

4 star rating I'd definitely go back here if i ever needed a room in queens again! The space is so cute. And also everything was clean. Also the brand for shower gel/shampoo/conditioner etc is good too. And i generally don't use the ones the hotels give. My only complaint would be there's no parking, and only one elevator!! 5/28/2017

Roman

Great staff, absolutely original interior and rooms, everything new and clean. Great breakfast! Easy access to Manhattan - the metro station is just 50 meters from the hotel entrance - R line, that takes you in 3 stops to central park, six stops directly to Times Square, and further 34th street for Empire state, Brooklyn bridge, etc... will come again! 10/16/2018

Brucr B.

5 star rating Hotel is in an industrial area so parking is difficult. But once that problem is solved, the hotel is well worth it. Very interesting decor. Rooms a bit tight but very clean. Staff was all very accommodating and professional. Did not partake of the breakfast in the hotel. Went across the street to a corner luncheonette and had a great breakfast sandwich.  Back to the hotel:

We were on 5th floor but not much to see out of the windows unless you like to see factory roofs.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only complaint was that the area starts working (hence a bit noisy) in the morning. If you are a late sleeper might be a problem. Otherwise this hotel is a great and interesting choice.
10/08/2016

Nofar M

5 star rating Wow!! Wow !!! Really recommend! If you are in NY great place for friends,family and also couples

Thank you very much . They people there very kind . The service there very quiqly . Soon they need to open there also restaurant inside- can’t wait!
7/04/2018

Joannah Y.

5 star rating Too bad we only had time to sleep in the hotel as a lot of non-New Yonkers do but would have loved to spend time in the hotel itself.  The design was warm and  "feel at home" like and the rooms were very clean. I don't know what those other reviewers were smoking at that time.  I expected and dreaded those supposed paper thin walls' noses to kick in and there wasn't a peep and we were there when the place was fully booked. My only complaint is their 1 Ply tissue paper in the toilet.  Hate those.

Housekeeping took awhile, most likely from being fully booked.  Our room was done at around 3 o'clock. The 24 hour gym was clean and empty as heck all the time we were there.  Overall, loved the experience and wouldn't hesitate to go back again!
11/30/2016

AnkurPankur

4 star rating Good hotel This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with a quirky industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. We missed having a bar or restaurant in-house but not too much. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Customer service Kendra was absolutely amazing ! Best customer service and really took care of us. Room is fantastic, spacious and beautiful. I recommend coming here, so cute and very antique chic! You won’t regret it. 3/31/2019

Sevann H.

4 star rating We ended up booking a night at the Paper Factory Hotel after some last minute changes to our flights out of LGA. It certainly is an odd location but conveniently located close to the airport with a few great restaurants nearby. If you're looking to step out of the hotel and do a lot of sightseeing then you will most definitely be disappointed, it's what I would refer to as a utilitarian neighborhood.

The hotel itself is decorated it what I would call hipster Millennial meets Restoration Hardware. It's quite beautiful inside and the rooms certainly look unique compared to what you would traditionally find.

The ceilings in the rooms are quite tall, and between that and the concrete floors I though for sure it would be loud at night but the concrete must be several meters thick because we never heard another soul all night long. The bathroom was clean, the room spacious, and well priced. Overall a winner for what it was. If you're ever pressed to stay by LGA, definitely consider this place.
2/25/2017

A TripAdvisor Member

4 star rating Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Aesthetically pleasing and unique decoration. Clean. Comfortable mattress. Great light fixtures. Easy to walk to restaurants. Unfortunately if you have loud guests staying above you, you’ll hear them. More soundproofing may be needed if party scene is invited to coexist with wholesome group looking for a full night of sleep 3/05/2019

Ankur

This place is located in an old paper factory building and they have done a good job of carving out a modern hotel space out of it with an industrial decor. It's located on a quiet lane between Queens and Long Island City, surrounded by a lot of good restaurants (try the many Greek seafood places nearby) and cafes. Part of the hotel is still under construction but it never disturbed us. Our room was compact (for a family of 4) but well-maintained and clean. The shower was separate from the toilet and that helped with doing things in parallel for a family. The queen beds were comfy although a bit tight for two people. The WiFi was fast and reliable. The service at the reception was helpful and simple. Overall, a decent value for money. 5/29/2019

Genia

Check in was fast and the woman who checked us in was very nice and helpful. Hotel is clean with unique decor. Also it's in a location near a lot of great restaurants. 11/19/2018

Nicki D.

5 star rating The overall feel of this vintage London inspired hotel is so dope. The restaurant downstairs was fabulous, along with the bar. The rooms have an industrial, cool, city vibe. The location is also super close to the train. A few blocks away from a quick ride into manhattan. The staff was also extremely accommodating. We had to leave early because of a snow storm and they completely refunded us for the night we didn't stay.

Definitely recommend this place!
5/14/2018

Faye M.

4 star rating The hotel is beautiful and has lots of charm and would stay again if I came back to New York the breakfast is great and great price and the area is so so but overall I liked it 9/02/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. More 1/01/1970

Kyle

Spacious room. Clean. Food is great for complementary. Also bar bites at the in hotel bar were high quality. Staff very accommodating. 5 stars 11/11/2018

Shadya N.

5 star rating Came here for my anniversary and fell completely in love. From the moment you walk in to the minute you check out, this hotel blows your mind. So much art and adventure into such a small space. The lobby is lovely, not to mention the amazing wall of books. The rooms are cozy and much different than your average stay. I stayed on the fourth floor and it was amazing. Wood floors, wood desks and cabinets, wood everywhere! They also have an outdoor area along with a restaurant/bar that is also very nice. This is a hotel you stay and enjoy. I wish I got more of it honestly! The only downside is the paper thin walls. You could hear absolutely every door open and shut, every footstep in the hall and the beautiful sound of the city which of course is expected. I'd stay here every time I'm in the area for sure! 8/22/2016

Nathan

Great location and funky decor. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, though not very decorated. Subway (M/R) is right outside the front door and just 2 stops from Manhattan. You're also just a couple blocks from lots of shops, restaurants, and museums. Overall, great spot. 12/07/2018

sandie1947

4 star rating Super hotel, interesting decor. 4 of us stayed at The Paper Factory Hotel. A short walk from the subway (which we navigated from Manhattan ).

Great staff that was very accommodating with the delivery of extra pillows, towels and water.

One drawback is that the hotel is not near anything. It was a former paper factory and there is a collection of interesting items in the lobby and comfortable sitting room.

We did figure out the subway system, after a few heading-the-wrong-way incidents and took in the site of the 1964 World's Fair.
7/26/2018

beckyalexandered2018

4 star rating Funky and spacious hotel We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us. Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors. The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there... We loved the look of this hotel after reading about it in a UK paper. We arrived late at night and loved the funky lobby - a fun space to arrive in. We were pleased with our standard room which had two doubles in it. We thought the beds very comfy - great mattresses and linen. High ceilings make the room feel spacious - great for new york. We had a basin/toilet room and a shower room - great shower and generous, fluffy towels. We paid extra each day for breakfast - it was very good in a lovely bright room - the woman running it was very pleasant. When we arrived we were offered breakfast at 10 dollars each which we paid for each day for 4 of us - although one receptionist said it should be 15 and was awkward about it - the manager stepped in and all was sorted. This could have been easier and more pleasant- we were paying for a week times 4 so they still had a great deal from us.

Room noise - our room was on floor 3 and overlooked a car garage which had two deliveries late at night which were noisy. Other than that I thought it quiet for new york and we heard nothing from other rooms/corridors.

The subway is outside which was great - we used it every day except one weekend when it didn't stop there and we had to get a cab back! Check before you board for later nights/weekends.

There was confusion over the summer party - we arrived to be told that there would be their annual party the last night of our stay due to end at 5am. We were worried about this as travelling with children and that is very late to hear party noise. In the end it was postponed due to weather but we really should have been told much earlier - we booked ages ago. The manager was again very nice about this and offered ear plugs but for such a big night I was surprised they even took regular bookings - maybe this needs more thought for the future - discuss with guests on booking that night, not when they check in!

The area is not smart and a bit quiet to walk around if on your own at night but we loved the Momi which is a 7-8 min walk away and tried a few of the local restaurants which were all excellent - the hotel gave us a great map with their locations. We also went to the amazing open air pool in Astoria - best get a cab there - free to go in but you need to take a good lock - check their many rules on line before going!

We would stay here again. More
8/13/2018

tmzk02

5 star rating Wonderful from the moment we stepped inside!!!!! Omg!!!! This place is beautiful and I hv never been treated so well.. Stephanie assisted us with Everything and then some.. Including a bonus upgrade(a loft) that was very unexpected... Thank you sooo much.. I rate this place 20 stars!!!! 7/25/2018

Kim H.

5 star rating This was my second stay at the Paper Factory Hotel, the first time for work and the most recent for mother/daughter weekend in NY. I LOVE the stylish/funky decor both in the lobby and the rooms. The rooms are actually pretty roomy (especially for NYC), with high ceilings and lots of windows. We stayed in the deluxe queen and if was perfect for the 4 of us -  1 queen, 1 king, a fold out couch, desk, refrigerator, and microwave.

The front desk staff and the manager were all great during our entire stay. My daughter had left a stuffed animal in her bed and the cleaning staff accidentally picked it up with the bedding to be laundered (it was white, just like the sheets). When we called the front desk and the manager immediately called the laundry company. They found the stuffed animal, but it had gone through the laundry and wasn't looking too good, so the PFH manager went to a toy store and bought a replacement and had it for my daughter when we got back that night - AMAZING service.

Although the hotel is not within walking distance of much, you can take a 5 min. Uber ride to some of the best Greek food in NY, or jump on the subway (across the street from the hotel front door) and be in Manhattan in 10-15 min.
3/30/2018

nycglutenfree

4 star rating Style doesn't always age well I was at the opening party for this hotel a few years back, when Mundo was the restaurant in the lobby. It felt like a really welcome place in the neighborhood and a cool place to be. Since Mundo's departure, it feels dated and like the events have gone down hill. 6/07/2018

David

Loved the decor. Very funky yet classy. They did an excellent job converting the warehouse. Room was impeccably clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The staff were friendly and we had no problem finding street parking. Would stay here again. Definitely! 5/26/2018

Lisa N.

5 star rating I have just arrived home from our daughter's college graduation party and there is not enough I can say about Daniella and her staff.  The night surpassed our expectations.  

The food. The atmosphere. The service.    All excellent.  

Thank you for making our night so special.  After Daniella who was there every step of the way. And there when we left. I have to give a shout out to Scott. Our bartender.   Thank you for all the excellent attention.   You made our night great

Thank you. Thank you and thank you again .
6/10/2017

Eric W.

5 star rating I travel for business often and have stayed at well over 80 hotels in the last 2 years alone. I've had amazing experiences at hotels and I've also had horrible experiences. My stay here was amazing!! - we got a free upgrade to the Manhattan Suite. The hotel has so much character both in the rooms and also downstairs - Joana at the front desk made we feel welcome from the moment I stepped into this hotel. She offered me a comprehensive list of recommended restaurants in the area and answered all my questions courteously and professionally. This place is amazing - worth every penny and then some. Check it out!!!! 10/27/2018

Adam M.

5 star rating My stay at the paper factory hotel was excellent. Clean, quiet even though there is construction going on nearby. Friendly staff that went out of there way to make me feel at home. Decor has an amazing rustic vintage feel to it. Spent some time taking photos of the interior items which are from the early to middle 20th century. 2/13/2018

Jonathan

Hip and trendy! Super rad place and not too pricey either! Needed a place to crash since my flight got delayed and I saw Paper Factory Hotel was running a deal so I gave it a shot and I’m so glad I did! Love this place, highly recommend! 7/22/2019

Alicia D

4 star rating Easy access to Manhattan I was a first time visitor to NYC with my two teenage daughters. We live in rural NC so we aren't used to city life and were a little nervous about making sure we stayed in a safe area and were able to navigate the city easily while saving money compared to Manhattan prices. This hotel checked those boxes. There were other families staying there and the desk clerks were very helpful. We had no trouble using the subway. One station was right across the street from the hotel, and we traveled all over Manhattan and even ventured into NJ and Queens with no issues. The street the hotel is on looks kind of run down and deserted, very few pedestrians about, with a Mercedes dealership and garage next door but a couple of streets over are several restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating and several people out and about. We didn't feel unsafe but also did not walk the streets after dark. I might not have felt safe then just because there were so few people out. The one night we came back to the hotel after dark we took a Lyft so that we could be dropped off at the door. About the hotel itself...I was disappointed that the lobby and several of the really cool areas (the book staircase, for example) that are prominently featured on the website were being remodeled and/or under construction. The website information... I was a first time visitor to NYC with my two teenage daughters. We live in rural NC so we aren't used to city life and were a little nervous about making sure we stayed in a safe area and were able to navigate the city easily while saving money compared to Manhattan prices. This hotel checked those boxes. There were other families staying there and the desk clerks were very helpful. We had no trouble using the subway. One station was right across the street from the hotel, and we traveled all over Manhattan and even ventured into NJ and Queens with no issues. The street the hotel is on looks kind of run down and deserted, very few pedestrians about, with a Mercedes dealership and garage next door but a couple of streets over are several restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating and several people out and about. We didn't feel unsafe but also did not walk the streets after dark. I might not have felt safe then just because there were so few people out. The one night we came back to the hotel after dark we took a Lyft so that we could be dropped off at the door.

About the hotel itself...I was disappointed that the lobby and several of the really cool areas (the book staircase, for example) that are prominently featured on the website were being remodeled and/or under construction. The website information and pictures do not reflect the current state of affairs. First impression upon walking into the lobby was not good because of that. When we went to check in there was an error with our reservation and they didn't have a double room available so they placed us in a king room with a roll-away bed for the first night. The next day they switched us to a double room. So it was a little aggravating to have to pack up and switch rooms but not a huge deal. After staying in the second room for one night we realized the air conditioner wasn't working so they switched us to a third room the next day which meant packing up again. That room was fine until we were getting ready to leave for the evening and realized the in room hair dryer didn't work. We realized this as we were all three getting ready to go to a Broadway show and had to be there at a certain time. I went down to the front desk with wet hair and requested a new hair dryer which took about 15-20 minutes to have it brought to the room. It was a brand new one still in the box so they maybe had to go out and buy it...not sure. Also, we had a room that was meant for four people, with three people staying in it. Housekeeping repeatedly left us 4 bath towels, 4 hand towels, and 2 washcloths. I had to keep requesting more washcloths and sometimes never received them. I resorted to stealing them off the housekeeping cart when I saw it in the hallway because we never had enough when it came time to shower.

All that to say, the hotel had some issues, but nothing absolutely horrible...just annoying. That's all the bad stuff, but there was plenty of good stuff. I liked the breakfast. Coffee and tea were free, and bagels, yogurt, danishes, etc were reasonably priced for NYC...$3-$4 each. As I mentioned before, the desk staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The breakfast area was very pretty and relaxing. They have a gym that I used to do yoga in a couple of times while there. Kind of old school but really cool. The one common area that wasn't being remodeled was very pretty and great for taking pictures in before heading out. The size of the rooms (we experienced three of them) was nice. I've heard NY hotel rooms are tiny but these felt comparable to others we've stayed in in other places. They were very clean. The bathrooms were nice. The curtains and blinds covered the windows well if you wanted to sleep in. I loved all the old structural details that give the space character and the quirky decor that was sometimes in unexpected places. That was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. We didn't want just a bland, chain hotel.

All in all we had a good stay at The Paper Factory but I can't give them five stars because of the discrepancy between the website and reality. They did mention construction on the website when I made the reservations but it said it was scheduled to be finished by the end of May. Our stay was July 13-20, well past the expected finish date. They need to update their website with accurate information. More
7/21/2019

Tyler

Friendly staff made our stay amazing. The hotel is comfortable, unique and convenient to the metro and attractions nearby. You get much more than you pay for. I would recommend and stay again. 6/20/2019

Matthew R.

4 star rating Mid sized Boutique Hotel at the intersection of Astoria and Long Island City. Booked it through booking.com and got a really good deal for two nights. Rooms were clean and pretty big for a small hotel. Rest of hotel was well organized, Front desk was efficient. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel (separate review), and the downstairs space is often used for large parties.  HVAC system in room kept place comfortable.

One minor quibble is they have to fix the elevator. it has that annoying "hey, I'm not exactly at the floor level, so let me bounce the people in the car a few times to find it" thing going for it.
3/03/2017

James D.

5 star rating Great hotel and hospitality!! I have a really good experience... every one here deserves a more then 5 starts !! 9/28/2017

Andrea

Fantastic find, just outside of Manhattan. Easily get into the city with a subway stop on the corner. Friendly hotel staff and well designed room interior. I was shocked at the difference in price compared to the city. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone visiting NYC. 5/26/2018

joyce

Room was large. I noticed in one review it was mentioned room was difficult to. Heat. Actually I didn’t have a problem. Always warm. Loved the large shower. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. 2/16/2019

crazeeoma

5 star rating Christmas lights Family of six ranging in age from 4 to 73 years old in New York City to see the Christmas lights. We had two rooms, each with two beds that were comfortable as well as the adjustable room temperature. Literally across the street from subway that takes you into Manhattan in a matter of minutes. The separation of the shower in a room by itself next to the room with sink and toilet allowed 6 females to get ready in an orderly fashion at this hotel. They offer breakfast foods and a buffet, as well as the small nice restaurant directly across the street. A bar available also with unique decorations all over the hotel. 1/01/1970

Near M.

4 star rating You may be wondering why a native, born and bred New Yorker is doing a review of a hotel in NYC but I'll explain. A friend of mine booked this hotel a few days ago and another friend of mine used to work here, so its given me the opportunity to get to check out the hotel, see the rooms and amenities it offers. I wanted to give this place a 5 out of 5 stars but there's a few key issues with this place that has made me give it a big time 4 out of 5 stars. And in some ways I feel generous giving it a 4. Either way, read on!

Location: Some may find the location inconvenient, weird, shady, "out of the way" but if you ask me, the location is perfect. Now I understand it's not right smack dab in the middle of Manhattan, in the tourist, Disineyfied trappings of Times Square or across the street from Central Park on the west or east wing of 59th but that's totally okay. This location is more of a piece of "real New York City" and you're not far away at all from Manhattan or north Brooklyn, around quite a few attractions and there's no shortage of eats in the area.

You'll be in the L.I.C/Astoria section of Queens. Up the Block from the hotel is the Museum of Moving Images which is a wonderful museum and you'll be next to Steinway street which is flooded with plenty of restaurants. To the west of Astoria and on Broadway you got even more options. Italian, Brazilian/Latin, Middle Eastern,Mediterranean, Asian the list doesn't end. And of course you have your chain restaurants if desire familiarity. If you find yourself on Jackson Ave or Vernon BLVD, then there's even more to desire.

You'll be next to Astoria Park and Gantry State Park which are both wonderful parks. And you're next to a plethora of trains to get you right into Manhattan. The R,M leaves you right in front of the hotel but the 7,E, N, W are a few minutes walks away.

You'll be in an industrial/residential area but there's not much too worry about really. Lots of construction going on with new sky rises being built.

Decor/Style: This is probably the biggest draw of the hotel. This hotel is truly groovy and has a completely distinct feel from many other hotels you'll go to anywhere. It's cozy, loungey, artsy and a lot of thought went into how the hotel was created. As I was lucky enough to see a few of the rooms through my connection, I can say that no room is the same and every room has its own unique touch and feel. Everywhere you look in the hotel there's art and every floor has a neat little lounge spot with comfy sofas. It's a mixture of the rustic past of the place meeting modern art.

There's also a nice little cafe on the main floor which is fairly priced.

And I will have to say this hotel has the best hotel-gym I've EVER been too. I've been to a good number of hotels and I am sure there's a hotel out there that blows this gym's hotel out the water BUT I still feel this hotel-gym very good. There's more then the bare bones minimum. There's a very durable kick boxing bag, good tread mills, good number of weights, resistance bands, yoga mats and a nice boom box. If you're a fitness buff and want a nice workout before you hit the streets, this can do you pretty well.

There's also a very big lounge area on the main floor and a really nice lounge rooftop area on the top floor. Which I believe can be used unless its reserved. There's also some shows that happen here which I think is on the basement area or something. I don't know but the staff can inform you I am sure.

The ugly and bad: So, with all the praise I've been giving it, I have to get down to some points that totally suck dirty booty. One of the things that pissed me off greatly about this place is the elevators. TERRIBLE. This place is only 5 floors so thankfully you have the option of going up the stairs without having to catch an asthma attack but there's no excuse for the elevators to be as slow as they are. Maybe its because its old but I don't give a damn. On the bright side, the stair cases are really neat to take a trip on so I suppose its not that bad. Still, its TOO slow for an elevator that has to go 5 floors.

Secondly, the place is still having a lot of work being done on it. I guess that's not totally a bad thing but its quite cheesy to see construction and renovation going on in the hotel when you're staying there. Once things are finalized, I can give this place a big time 4 or perfect 5.

Either way, I still highly recommend this place and don't let my negatives of the place deter you. If you can afford it, definitely book it and make sure you have time to not only explore NYC but spend time in the hotel. It's definitely a hotel I feel you would want to spend time in and not only have as a sleeping hub. It's so groovy, comfy and cozy that I would definitely want to make the best out of shelling out some cash to actually hang out here. BOOK IT.
3/08/2017

bitchofliving

A funky, hipster hotel that was fairly enjoyable. My major criticism is the overall customer service. A truly slow and often times very forgetful front desk, no luggage carts at check-in (after a very long 10-hour drive), and an inconsistent bar that had no regular hours. One great positive was the proximity to public transport, with the subway literally across the street from the front door. 10/10/2018

Kim C

5 star rating Fabulous Hospitality This is belated review of a September stay. I ended up at the PFH very late one night after being locked out of the condo where I was to stay. Arturo was so kind to help me out of a stressful bind with a gorgeous suite for an incredible price. As (bad) luck would have it, I spent the next day in the ER and I missed the last flight out. Not only did Arturo accommodate my need for a room for a second night, he and his Brazilian background music helped me throughout a sleepless night as I researched my potentially frightening diagnosis. I'm happy to say that, months later, the diagnosis has been ruled out. And, I'm more than happy to share my very positive experience with travelers who appreciate service that goes above and beyond. More 11/09/2018

cariburbs

4 star rating Unique and trendy choice We stayed here for one night in August. The hotel is trendy, unique and simply fantastic. The hotel had hardwood floors throughout, high ceilings and was very clean. The restaurant is being renovated, so there wasn't dining on site. Walking distance to other eateries. This block the hotel is on is fairly quiet, but walking distance to other neighborhoods. 8/11/2019

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
1/01/1970

Craig M.

5 star rating I hesitate to rate the Paper Factory because I would like to keep it for myself.  Lobby and the rest of the main floor is modern, cool, unique and very welcoming. The vibe was very relaxed but the staff including Arturo, Daniella, and Theo in the bar were very friendly, helpful, and genuine.  My room was spacious, clean, and light filled and the bed was comfortable. Blackout shades provided perfect sleep environment.  Bar was well designed and offered a relaxed atmosphere.  I stayed in Queens but Manhattan is very close either by car or subway.  This place is a true gem and a nice change from the boring, generic hotel experience.  My only caveat is that like most of New York parking can be a challenge if you happen to have a car during your stay.  Other than that I look forward to staying at the Factory when I'm in town again. 10/14/2018

Julia

Such a cool hotel. Very modern industrial in style and design. Clean rooms, good coffee,nice amenities all around. Would recommend to my extremely picky grandmother which is saying A LOT. 8/27/2018

B_Mike_Shaw

4 star rating Simple but Functional The hotel is quaint and reasonably priced. The room that I was in was not large, but functional. It is also quite convenient - despite being located outside of Manhattan, it is located close to a subway station and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to downtown Manhattan. 9/01/2018

Sheila M.

5 star rating I love this hotel! 5 stars because it's beautiful inside, quiet and peaceful. It can be a little dark inside but that's part of the character of the hotel. The rooms are comfy;the bed and there is a thermostat in each room ( so not sure why some reviews said it was too hot?). I have stayed twice and never been bothered by any noise. The bar and restaurant are delicious! 6/05/2018

Chad

Generally great experience at the paper factory. The room was great. Breakfast was good. The subway station is right out front, and the city is only a stop or two away. 3/23/2019

Yonatan K.

5 star rating Very cool hotel everything here is very rustic I love displace the rooms comfortable and The price is ridiculous very cheap, comfortable to get to the city from here 11/20/2016

Prince E.

5 star rating Yup yup this place is beautiful, my friend P.K reviewed the location for his article and man oh man, it came out great, food, drinks and service !! 2/27/2017

Ultraportdrive

4 star rating Trendy hotel in Queens Stayed a few nights at this fairly new hotel. Nice feature are the high ceilings in the rooms, which give you the impression of space. Actually the rooms are spacious if I compare it with the manhattan hotel we had the second part of the week. Also the neighbor hood was quite at night, for good nights sleep. The shower did not have much water pressure, but was okay.

The lobby and restaurant were being refurbished, but did not matter as we went outside for breakfast and dinner.

Good hotel for visiting NY as the metro almost stops on the doorstep.
8/16/2019

Renée

Beautiful decor, friendly service and very accommodating! I love the little coffee shop In the lobby. It was perfect for grabbing a cup of coffee on the way to find adventure. I You are near several train stops, just a very short walk to any of them. 11/19/2018

honest reviewer

5 star rating Compassionate stay... We were here for a funeral, so while most of our time here was a blur, we would like to comment on the constant kindness that was so graciously displayed toward us on every level. As we strolled in day after day, in black, rolling in extra bags, and forlorn faces, the staff here stuck with us, and afforded us human kindness above and beyond. This hotel is hipster cool, funky, clean, convenient, serves excellent food, and has the best staff ever. In memory of our beloved niece, we cannot thank you enough.. 7/27/2018

Doctor

Very nice hotel in a great location. It’s close enough to Manhattan if you want to go to bars, but centered perfectly to avoid too much traffic. The hotel itself was very clean and housekeeping was on point. The staff was also friendly and helpful. You can even request a mini fridge and microwave free of charge. 11/11/2018

Jon

Not a great location but easy access to subway. Well decorated and comfortable rooms. Very cool common areas when you enter and nice, helpful staff 9/04/2018

Larry

Staying at the Paper Factory Hotel was a fabulous experience. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful, when we got stranded and had to book an additional night because of a snowstorm! Loved our stay and we would highly recommend this place. We would love to visit again! Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. 1/22/2019

Jim H.

4 star rating Really great atmosphere and decor. The bar has great quality brews and spirits. There's a shuffleboard and ping pong room as well as a nice patio. The rooms are nice, though, the harder bed with softer pillows was a bit uncomfortable. But the bathroom and shower both were very clean.

The location is great, it's right next to the MTA and a quick ride into Manhattan or to LGA.

The only real issue I had was the service at the cafe counter being slow at best and interrupted by a manager more concerned with a rag being in a bucket than the one customer who had already been waiting for a few minutes for a cup of coffee.

Otherwise, this will be my go to for my business travel into NYC for the foreseeable future.
9/27/2018

Nadia

I've stayed here twice - it's such a great hotel, especially when competing with the matchbox-size hotel rooms in Manhattan. I was hesitant to stay in Queens but it was the BEST decision.

The rooms are a decent size with great decor, the wifi works, they have reasonable prices for New York, the service is reliable and friendly and the subway really is outside the hotel. The distance to NYC is not a consideration, since it's a short subway ride away.

There's only a grab-and-go breakfast counter which isn't ideal but can be worked around. The cleanliness of the room wasn't up to standard on my second stay (which was only for one night, I would have asked to move if I was staying for longer).

Don't think twice, book your stay here.
7/03/2018

A TripAdvisor Member

5 star rating Kendra at the front desk is amazing We stayed a 4 day weekend with multiple guests and Kendra really went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She helped us with several questions throughout the night! She went above and beyond. 3/22/2019

Nathan S.

5 star rating Stayed here for a wedding. The staff is fantastic, incredibly accommodating and friendly. The subway was 1 block away, and the neighborhood is quiet (by NYC standards) I would stay here again next time i come to NY 8/07/2017

Ashley

Fun and quirky hotel. I did not care for the all gray rooms. They were very drab. Concrete floors were very industrial and cold. However clean and spacious and less than a block from the R and M train. Super easy access into Manhattan. 12/06/2018

VovaNLondon

4 star rating Great hotel May be surrounding area is not best, but location is definitely perfect - only three stops from 5th avenue. The hotel itself is very clean, breakfast is good. Rooms are a bit small but it was ok for us. 6/19/2018

Noelle B.

5 star rating Wonderful hotel! I booked this through HotelTonight for a special occasion and called prior to check-in to request a nice room if possible. Mariana was the one who took my call and she totally came through!! We were set up in a lovely suite and we were even able to check in early. The room was HUGE (NYC studio apt huge) and had a great view so we got to see the sunset over the city. The decor all over the hotel was very interesting and as other people have mentioned, the gym was pretty nice and spacious (compared to other hotel gyms). We unfortunately didn't get to check out the restaurant and bar downstairs but both seemed pretty lively. I had such an amazing time here from beginning to end and I won't hesitate to come back!! They really made my surprise gift that much more special. 6/15/2017

Mishka

The Paper Factory Hotel is a very nice place to stay. The decor was beautiful and unique and the staff was very pleasant. Although we were only there for a night, we will definitely be staying here again in the future. 7/29/2018

Douglas

Excellent accommodations, excellent location. Check-in was quick and staff very friendly and helpful, made great suggestion for nearby restaurant. Room is quite large compared to other places I have stayed in NYC. I like that the shower is in a separate room from the sink and toilet-- allows people to get themselves ready more efficiently. Nice neighborhood. Rooms and hallways are thoughtfully decorated, although the building itself is beautiful. It appears that they are building out a new front lobby, but this did not interfere with my stay, nor was there any noise from the construction. My room was very clean and in excellent repair. Subway station across the street. I highly recommend The Paper Factory! 5/04/2019

478fionaw

5 star rating Great value hotel with easy access to Manhattan Stayed 6 nights in this very cool hotel (ok a few renovations going on but they’re nearly finished), loved the easy access into Manhattan, subway literally across the road from the hotel! The staff were exceptional, really helpful & informative & you actually felt they cared as they asked us every day what they could help us with or enquired as to whether our day had gone well. Breakfast was great & pastries delicious. Rooms were spacious & beds very comfortable, housekeeping was efficient & friendly. Hotel can’t be beaten on price & convenience & customer service. Will definitely be back! 8/10/2019

J

Wonderfully designed, moderately priced- nearby the 37 street R/M train station. It's close to Kaufman Studios and many restaurants, bars, a movie theater and the Museum of the Moving Image. The hotel was built from an old factory and is just brilliantly designed down to the small details in the rooms. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, game room, fitness center, lounge areas, continental breakfast (for a fee), bottled water and more. Check in is at 3pm. Check out is at 11am. I suggest anyone that's looking for a nice place to stay while in the Queens area- with easy access into Manhattan by train- to stay here. The staff is lovely as well. I would definitely come back. 8/13/2018

Matars_Z

4 star rating Fair choice with great staff and significant noise problems. The hotel has a modern industrial decor that is fun except for the cold cement floors in the rooms which don't make for a 'warm' feel. Alot of gimmicky 'new' elements. It also has a super friendly staff that welcome you and make for a nice stay- nothing like 90% of NYC properties where you might as well be an unwelcome fly. There is convenient access to the subway, but an Uber can also get you to the city pretty fast and at low cost.

The major issue with this hotel is the crazy amount of noise generated all hours of day and certainly at 1 am, 2 am, 3 am (despite a rule that they should not be operating at that time) at the car dealership and repair place next door. Essentially they have car deliveries that arrive at odd hours, with the hotel having zero control in stopping them - and they make so much noise unloading them, its impossible to sleep through it. They start early with repairs and end late. This is a huge flaw if you face that side. Thus, I would not stay here again unless I didn't have a better choice, or I would make sure not to stay on the side facing the car dealership. Good value, however, if you cannot afford the Manhattan prices on popular holidays.
1/13/2019

AliJelly

5 star rating Beautiful quirky hotel in NYC The hotel is set in an an old factory, rooms are grand and have every comfort. Our bed was just perfect. It’s very conveniently located to visit NYC, without having to be in Manhattan. They have a restaurant on-site were we had breakfast once. The pancakes were just delicious! We also had a coffe everyday from their bar, it was the best coffe I had in NYC. I was pregnant at the time so I could only drink decaf, nevertheless it was delicious! 10/02/2018

Bailey

If anybody is trying to find good deals for hotels visit HotelBuIly. com booked a hotel on there and they had the best rates anywhere!

Cool... I love the industrial but chic retro kind of style. I appreciate the cleanliness and the very low noise ambiance because of its perfect situation in a non hustling bustling neighborhood. Very close to subway station, but currently only local metro that stops by it.
5/28/2019

Tash H.

5 star rating Great hotel! It's definitely more spacious than any hotel in Manhattan for this price range. Will return. 9/23/2018

Tyler_M10

5 star rating Coolest hotel I've ever stayed in This was by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. Worth the stay for the decor alone. The hotel is fairly newly renovated and sits in an old paper factory. We were given a fifth floor room, we were upgraded to a corner suite and it was amazing. Hard wood floors on the fifth floor. The room was spacious, had a sweet Marshall amp mini fridge, great views, cathedral ceilings, desk, furniture, and a king size bed. The toilet and sink was separate from the shower which was super convenient.

The front desk workers were SO extremely helpful and accommodating. I had called multiple times with multiple questions for a Christmas present and a visit for Christmas Eve weekend. They took the time to answer all my questions and gave me more.

We were able to park for free on the side street and could see our car from our window. The subway station going into Manhattan was attached to the building and was a 10 minute train ride to the heart of NYC.

Everything about this hotel was a 5 star. It was an amazing experience for a trip into the city.
2/12/2019

Zachary M

5 star rating Visited during Graduation There were 5 of us at the hotel. We stayed on recommendations from family. The hotel was under construction when we were there, however we weren’t there for the hotel restaurant. The rooms were more than enough space, very clean and well maintained. The hotel has a great feel and you feel very safe in the area! There are 2 subways stations very close that zip right into the action! The staff was attentive, very pleasant and knowledgeable! Even tho the restaurant was closed the breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day! When visiting New York again we would absolutely chose the Paper Factory! 7/16/2019

Toya

Beautiful hotel with great, friendly staff. Loved the outdoor bar area and food truck. Very eclectic decor...just my style. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will DEFINITELY be going back!!! Great for a getaway with a loved one or alone!!! Can't say enough good things about this place👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 8/07/2019